Paranormal Activities


I have developed this strange fascination with most things paranormal. It started ever-so-slightly years ago when the television show “John Edward ~ Crossing Over” was on the air. I don’t know if you ever saw his show, but I was hooked from the start. I watched every episode I could. During one reading, he was talking about three specific things that no one in the audience understood, and I had myself convinced that they were directed at me. I was awestruck. I read his books and my fascination grew.

I knew a guy who worked as an investigator for an old employer of mine, and we became friends. He once brought a casserole to me when I was home recuperating from major surgery. He was an all-around super nice guy. We lost touch when I changed jobs about 7 years ago. At that time, I only had two children. He had been diagnosed with Hepatitis C a year or so before we lost touch with each other. One night, after Ben was born, I had a dream (which was memorable for many reasons, not the least of which being that I seldom dream anymore). My old buddy came up to me and said “Congratulations.” That’s it. I knew immediately that he was talking about Ben’s birth, but it was strange. I hadn’t thought about him in forever. I didn’t run into him in town anywhere, and we hadn’t had any contact with each other for several years before this dream happened. It just came out of nowhere. I couldn’t figure out what made me have this dream. Several weeks later, I ran into an old friend of mine, who also knew this guy when I knew him. I asked her if she knew how he was doing. She said, “You didn’t hear? He died about 2 months ago.” I was absolutely floored. I could not believe it. I knew immediately that I hadn’t dreamed it at all, that he had come to tell me congratulations because he was a thoughtful guy, and he could see what was happening in my life.

Ever since then, I have believed whole-heartedly in the concept that when we die, our spirits leave our bodies and continue to exist. I always believed in God, Heaven and Hell, and all the rest, but the concept of our spirits living on and being aware of our world in such a tangible way really made a mark on me.

Many people think that the belief in paranormal is the equivalent of the belief in the occult. I don’t think so. I’m sure it gets carried over into that realm frequently, but for me, paranormal phenomena are validations of what I belief as a Christian. That God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that all who believe in Him might have eternal life.

Eternal life. That those who have gone before me live on. That I will live on. That I will know my children and my grandchildren after I have died. That’s a very peaceful thought for me.

Will I go out and actively seek these validations? No. Absolutely not. I think that when you go out looking for something, you open yourself up to finding things that you do not need to find. Bad things can happen, and I’m not cool with that. But I am open to the signs. I pay attention. I do not believe in mere coincidence. I believe that they are there, all around us, and if we listen close enough, they will tell us what they want to tell us, and we can hear them. I have several of the objects that surrounded my grandparents most of their lives. When I look at or touch those things, I feel peaceful. I think that this is a combination of the memories that these objects hold for me, and the opportunities that these reminders have to open my mind to the peace that I’m sure my grandparents want me to feel in my life.

In the meantime, I will continue to watch shows like “Ghost Hunters”…and “John Edwards”…and feed my fascination.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Paranormal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Paranormal Activities

  1. Pat says:

    I have never had a conversation with a friend or family member who has died that has left me upset, only at peace. I “dream” often of loved ones so I get exactly what you mean. I won’t say I am fascinated or anything…I just believe that certain people are put into your life forever by God. Good job!

  2. Aimee says:

    I agree 200%.

    • Wow – what a story and I agree 100%. My belief is deep seeded though…My great-grandmother – of Busha ring fame – died when I was six. Two years prior to her death, she took a cutting from a flowering plant and stuck in in an bottle. it rooted, but never flowered. The day we returned from her funeral, it was in full bloom

  3. Pingback: Confession Thursday & Other Unsundries « Zohrbak's Blog

  4. Pingback: Ghosthunters « Zohrbak's Blog

Leave a Reply

