Dear Jackass


A good friend of mine posted a very interesting article on facebook the other day. Heart Attack, Stroke-Prone Arteries More Common in Nasty People

This made me think about all the nasty people in the world, and the more I thought about it the more irritated I got. People who are rude for no reason at all really get under my skin. I’m not always an easy person to get along with, but unless there’s something majorly wrong going on somewhere, you will not observe me arbitrarily treating people like crap. Some people I know (none of you, of course, dear readers) seem to be pre-disposed to rudeness. Others are emotional rollercoasters, and you never know how they will react to any given situation. Either way, these people make me tired. Their misery just oozes out of their pores. My initial reaction is to get angry, but overall I just feel sorry for them.

Then there are complete strangers who act rudely towards me or other people for no apparent reason at all…people that I’ve never met before, and therefore could never have possibly done anything to. You know the type: the lady behind you in the grocery store check out lane whom–when you reject the bag of sugar because of a gaping hole that you didn’t notice until you got to the check out–breathes in and out rather heavily and rolls her eyes the entire time you are waiting on the bag boy to run and get you another one; the person who answers the phone at a doctor’s office/vet’s office/other business office who refuses to give you information or assistance, with an attitude; the person in front of you walking into a store who ignores you and lets the door slam you in the face rather than take two extra seconds out of his or her day to hold the door for you. It’s a shame that it’s such a rarity these days to run into someone who is willing to take the time and effort to actually help you with something–even when it’s their JOB to do so. And the whole “Kill ’em with kindness” mentality doesn’t work. These people don’t care if you are dripping with sarcasm when you return their rudeness with niceties. They are not going to lose sleep over this, I assure you. However, I do feel it may be my duty as a fellow human being to warn these people of their impending doom. So, I have decided to print out many copies of this article to keep on hand, and when, by happenstance, I run into one of these people, I will hand them a copy, with a smile on my face, and walk away. I will stop short of including the following, hand-written note, however, because I think this might be going overboard.

“Dear Jackass:

I’m sorry you are having a crappy life. Quit taking it out on innocent bystanders, or, as you will see from the attached article, you will be much more likely suffer a heart attack or stroke.

Sincerely,

A Concerned Human Being”

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dear Jackass

  1. Wendi says:

    don’t forget and leave the copies at your office! :0)

    • zohrbak says:

      Really? Did you just say that? lol

      Just kidding. You know that’s exactly what I will do.

      • Wendi says:

        Well.. I had a visual of someone not holding open the door for you at the grocery store and you getting mad, reaching into your purse to retrieve your valuable information and it wouldn’t be there b/c I DID NOT remind you to not leave it at your office. So, what kind of friend what that make me??

      • zohrbak says:

        Yeah, you can see me digging through my purse of a thousand objects except the one thing I’m looking for, then getting frustrated and blaming you. I get it.

  2. You know what – in my previous life of fast food and convienience store work I trained an awful lot of people. One of my most important lessons was about attitude. I was often heard to say: It is not the customers fault that you had a crappy day or that you don’t have enough money or that your feet hurt or whatever. Don’t blame them for something in your life.

    At the end of the day, everyone deserves to be treated with respect until they deserve to not be treated with respect.

    “Kindness is the language which the deaf can hear and the blind can see” Mark Twain

  3. Jennifer says:

    Love it! And thanks for the pamphlet idea!! 🙂

  4. Jennifer says:

    I think that is a wonderful idea!! and way to get out of losing it or going off on those rude people!!! Ugh people like that just disgust me!!!

  5. annette says:

    How about just handing them the article with an attached note saying “the sooner the better”?

    • zohrbak says:

      Oooooh. That’s real nasty. lol

      • annette says:

        I know it’s nasty but having worked in retail for five years now, I think I’m entitled to say it and not feel too guilty. I work in the office but my job does require me to intermingle with the customers. I can spot a “jackass” a mile away and desperately wishes Scottie would beam me up!!! Hasn’t happened yet.

      • zohrbak says:

        I wasn’t implying that you should feel guilty about feeling that way. I’ve worked with the “public” myself. There are some real assholes out there! 😉

  6. Aimee says:

    I too struggle with why people can’t just be DECENT. Its a crazy world.

    And the article! : Thats a fantastic idea.

    Aimee

Leave a Reply

