Behavior Choices…follow up #1


So I had a missed call on my phone last night from an unknown number, while I was on my way home from church, at about 7:45 p.m.  I called the number back at about 8:00, and there was no answer, but the voicemail message said, “Hi, this is Janet [names have been changed to protect the innocent], I can’t take your call right now…”  I realized in an instant that this was Little B’s teacher’s first name, so I hung up real quick without leaving a message.  Talking to a teacher without proper preparation is like going into battle without a weapon.  I hoped and hoped that she wouldn’t see that I called back and then call me back again. 

I didn’t know what I would say yet.  I feel like I’m supposed to be able to solve the problem with a discussion, and I’m just not prepared to do that.  All I could say to her at that point was that I had talked to Little B, I had prayed about it, I  had blogged about it, and one of those activities had yielded the advice that I was to just fumbledick around with the situation and try not to screw him up too much.  I could let her think that possibly the prayer had led to that revelation.  Because I’m pretty sure that God feels close to the same way.  He’s gonna be fine…Do the best you can… Just don’t screw him up. 

I’ll keep you posted.

🙂

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Behavior Choices…follow up #1

  1. quaid says:

    Thanks for introducing me to the word “fumbledick.” This is awesome. And thanks for using it in the same paragraph as “God” and “prayed about it.” Because I’m sure He appreciates the irony as much as I do!

    Oh, and good luck with the teacher. Yikes.

    • YaYa says:

      My thoughts exactly, Quaid!

    • zohrbak says:

      Kudos go out to Ryan for his comment…”Anyway, we fumbledicked through the situation and I think managed to not screw him up any more than we already have. I think that’s the best we can do- fumbledick through these things and focus on not screwing them up. They’re gonna be fine. Hope that didn’t sound like advice, that’s just what I’m gonna do.” I loved the word “fumbledick” so much I thought it deserved the spotlight in my post. I plan to use this word as often as possible, in a variety of situations. You can insert it into regular conversation like “smurf”. Let’s all give it a try. lol

  2. Aimee says:

    Lovn the word fumbledick!!!!

    Thats all I have to say about that.

Leave a Reply

