It feels like Fall outside…


And in Louisiana, that’s pretty rare.  Even DURING the Fall.  It was 69 degrees outside when I got up this morning, and with [only] 79% humidity…it felt like heaven. 

My favorite season is Fall.  I fell in love in the Fall (all three times), I got pregnant in the Fall (3 out of 4 times–and the other one I gave birth to in the Fall) and I actually ENJOY the outdoors in the Fall (although I still refuse to CAMP OUT …let’s not get all crazy here.) In the rest of the country, it is considered Fall from September to November.  In Louisiana though, it’s really only from about mid-October through November extending possibly a few weeks in December.  (I’ve worn shorts many times on Christmas Eve).

A lot of authors have written about the melancholy associated with Fall.  The possibilities of summer are gone, and the chill of winter is on the horizon. Skies turn grey, and people turn inward, both physically and mentally.  These people did not live in the south.  We southerners are all so oppressed by the heat of the summer, that the gentle reprieve of the Fall calms our spirits and renews our souls.  We come back to life in the Fall.  When winter comes, we grit our teeth and bear it for a month or two, and then look forward to the two weeks of Spring we get to enjoy before summer sets in all over again.   

Okay.  It’s 10:00 a.m. now.  The coolness has deflated and the heat’s creeping back in.  Back to work.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It feels like Fall outside…

  1. Aimee says:

    Oh, please! There is only one defined season in Louisiana at all. Summer. There may be fall , winter and spring, but they are about 2 weeks each, and all scrunched together. So you get like 2 weeks of fallish weather, 2 weeks of weak winter, and 2 weeks of springlike weather before summer is back for its long visit.

    La doesnt have any of the best parts of fall: beautiful red/yellow trees to promt you to go driving just to look at trees. I doesn’t have the 2-3 months of 65-75 degree highs, and 45-55 degree lows. Just cool enough to wear your favorite snuggly clothes, but not so cold that you are miserable.

    Nor does it have the winter. Which really isn’t much of a loss at all, trust me. LOL. Super cold weather is for the birds. Birds like penguins….But snow IS fun for a little while. The ice and below zero frigid temps, NOT SO MUCH. UGH>

    But Spring, ah, spring! 2-3 more months of awesome temperatures. Still too cool to swim, but perfect for anything else. Still all the color, just in the form of flowers instead of the trees turning bright yellow, orange and red.

    For at least 4 months out of the year, I don’t run anything. Heat or air. We open the windows, and turn on the attic fan. Its amazing.

    I do miss a lot of things about Louisiana….mostly people, and familiarity. But as far as weather….Not a bit. The 9 months of high humidity sweltering heat seems nearly unbearable to me now. I am really really glad y’all are having some good weather, but I am also very appreciative of the weather God gave to the Ozarks. I’ll try to send some your way!

  2. Mary says:

    I agree with you, Fall is my favorite time of the year. I love watching the trees change colors and the cooler nights.

  3. Pat says:

    That’s it. I’m moving in with Aimee until 30 minutes after the first snow. Not to worry, Aimee, I’ll be back at first thaw. In LA there are 4 seasons. Almost Summer, Summer, Still Summer and Christmas…(It WAS nice this morning and is supposed to be nicer tomorrow morning)

  4. Ryan says:

    Fall is EASILY the best time of year down here. Once the weather starts acting right, I start to feel a little ambition creeping back in to my bones, like I might actually fix the fence now, or paint the shutters. Its the start of hunting season, camping, bonfires, LSU football, Holidays are just around the corner….

  5. quaid says:

    Fall is my favorite season…reminds me of new beginnings, college, Halloween, and Pearl Jam.

Leave a Reply

