Welcome New Readers!


Welcome to Zohrbak’s Blog.

Let me tell you a little bit about myself.  I am a mother of 4, I work at a law firm, and I like to write about my internal and external struggles in a way that entertains people.  My blogs do not center on the school system (sorry to disappoint, but don’t stop reading JUST YET…)

If you came here today to gawk at some words that you were told or previously conceived to be negative connotations about the school system in general or in any way specifically, I’ve taken down the most recent posts which chronicled most specifically some recent struggles I’ve had with my 5 year old, Little B, and behavior issues he’s having at school. 

In light of recent events, I did some soul-searching last night, and decided the best thing to do was take down these posts, because I was forced to, for a moment, put myself in my son’s teacher’s shoes.  I don’t think it’s fair to pass judgment on first impressions of a teacher any more than I think it’s fair to do that to a child.  My words may have implied anger, but they were truly borne only of frustration.  The conversations chronicled in these now-defunct posts may have cast an unfavorable light on this teacher, and if that left her feeling bad in any way, I truly apologize for that.  My frustration was a cumulation of years of dealing with my unruly children and trying to control their behavior from afar while they are at school, and the trials and tribulations that I have undergone for YEARS in dealing with their teachers and principals.  It was not solely a result of these first few weeks of school (or Little B alone or his teacher for that matter) in particular.  Her obvious frustration might not have been borne solely because of my child or me, but from YEARS of dealing with oppositional and defiant PARENTS in addition to their children.  And to be fair, I must point out that our teachers and schools can do 50 unrecognized things right in a day, but make one mistake and the criticism begins! 

If you’d have gone back to the beginning of my blog and read it in its entirety, you’d know where I was coming from.  98% of the criticisms archived here are directed at ME and MY CHILDREN.  However, all of that being said, even words taken out of context that resulted in someone’s hurt feelings were not my intention.   This blog is supposed to be funny, uplifting, and a community of people who find themselves in the same position.  It was never intended to be a source of embarrassment for anyone but myself.  Again, I apologize to the teacher if any of my words (or their interpretation by others) gave her even the slightest embarrassment. 

If you came here to gawk, then the time for gawking is over.

However, I always appreciate new readers, so if you’re here to stay, then Welcome Aboard!  If you’d like to chime in on any of my posts, feel free to do so…without fear of recourse.  You may create an anonymous screen name of your choice and comment without anyone knowing who you are.  You can disagree with anything I’ve written.  You can support me in my daily struggles, both internal and external, which I like to write about because it has the effect of keeping me sane.  Who knows, maybe it will have a similar effect on you.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in bad kids, Bad mother, crazy kids, Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Welcome New Readers!

  1. Pat says:

    Well said. I, for one, hope they stay. I would love to know there are people out there who just simply look forward to your next blog adventure as much as your faithful readers do!
    After all, how else will they know the funny things that happen around your dinner table!

    • zohrbak says:

      Me too! The more, the merrier, I say! [Thanks for the comment, I sense some hesitation this morning from all my (new and old) readers in commenting…(fear not, dear readers, comment away!)]

  2. Pat says:

    I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again…I ain’t scared!! LOL

  3. Mr Ray says:

    I hope all goes the way it should have from the beginning and that Little B comes out the winner.
    Some toes in that school were stepped on. It will take some time for the throbbing to end…. There are long, long memories over there. And you have kids in other schools.
    Just keep your eye on the future. Little B’s teacher may get Little A next year. And wouldn’t that be something? And what if B and A had been twins and she had gotten both. WOW! Talk about an education. Together they could give her one.
    Man-o-man! I just thought of something else! What if B and E had been twins? Can you imag…oh never mind! Forget I brought it up.

  4. GG says:

    You have a beautiful little boy and I think he’s unique and so much fun to know. His smile is magical and he will be a true leader some day. Don’t let his behavior worry you too much. Give him a little more time to grow up. It’s going to work out just fine!

  5. Coyote says:

    It’s your blog, and your decision, and you have to take into account the needs of your family, but I feel you’d have been perfectly within your rights to tell the people at the school that what you choose to post in your blog is none of their damn business.

  6. Aimee says:

    I know it surprises you, but I will never hold back in commenting. LOL.

    I know some awesome, competent, patient wonderful balanced teachers. The majority of them actually probably. But lemme tell you, offended or not, there are some who remind me of some Vietnam War Vets. Over the years, the experience of being in that combat zone called school, has left them just messed up.

    Lets see…focus on our High school PE teacher, Ms. Williams. Messed up.

    The tall really old lady (Oh, what was her name??) that taught science at ASH. Awesome. She was as pumped about earth science at 99 1/2 (cuz she was at least that old) in 1990 as she was in 1930. UMMMM….
    Ms. Tiz. Super awesome. Super duper awesome. And Senora Melian. Awesome. And my English 1 teacher at Ash. She was awesome. So many good ones.

    Bad ones: My 3rd grade teacher, Ms. Brazelton. Omg. She was insane. Mean old witch lady. And ewww, my Algebra 1 teacher at ASH. (Starting to leave out names cuz that one has a son that i know has a bunch of friends on my friends list. lol)

    Anyway, Good ones and bad ones. I don’t know about Ben’s. But your effort at this early juncture in the school year to make sure she doesn’t think you are a psycho mom is a good one.

    • zohrbak says:

      That was a super duper comment. Thanks for recognizing that my point there was (okay, points) A) I recognize that there ARE psycho moms out there and 2) I’m not psycho and 3) I’d like to give you the benefit of the doubt that you aren’t a terrible teacher. Because right or wrong, there are bad teachers in this world. I’ve dealt with some of them. As a student, and as a mother.

      Thanks for your comment, it was dead-on.

Leave a Reply

