Con to the Fession Thurs to the Day.


Music is my pastime.  I’m motivated by it, inspired by it and soothed by it.  My 6-disc CD changer and my ipod are full of folk music, alternative music, and even some pop music.  I like Damien Rice, Jack Johnson, Alanis Morisette, Tori Amos, Norah Jones, Bob Schneider, Coldplay, John Mayer, The Fray, Adele and a lot of stuff like that.  I mostly listen to it when I’m cleaning, to drown out the distractions (of which there are many) and motivate me to keep on going, and when I’m driving, to relax and clear my head.  

But there’s more than the calm and catchy music I’ve already told you about.  It’s my dirty little secret.  I listen to some music I’d be incensed about my children listening to.  It’s also kinda out of character for the roles I tend to play in this world:  Mother of 4 school-age children but stops just short of “Soccer Mom”…Church Goer…God Fearer.  

Here’s my Confession for this installment of Confession Thursday:

There’s a special place in my heart for:  Rap Music.  I’m not talking Rapper’s Delight, here, either, I’m talking about the down-n-dirty, filthy-lyrical, even occasionally women-demeaning kind.  The kind of music that goes against all of my morals and values.  But dammit it’s got a great beat.  And I feel kinda badass when I listen to it.

I really only listen to it on rare (and special) occasions.  When the kids aren’t in the car…or when I’m starting to feel angst and need something to help me release the urge to yell at my family something along the lines of: “I’ve had it with all you people, so GET OUT!”  The effect is similar to the ‘release’ felt by someone with Tourette’s Syndrome who bursts out in a profane-ridden tantrum. 

Here’s a quick list of my favs:  Eminem…(I know, cringe)….Kanye West…(Ouch!)…50 Cent…(scary!).

I realize that the above list doesn’t make me out to be the ‘hippest’ rap music listener…I’m not listing a lot of current rappers here.  I couldn’t tell you who Soulja Boy is or what he sings.  I really don’t go out sampling new rap music.  I’m happy with what I have.  It serves its purpose. 

When things are kinda crappy, and you need a lift, listen to Kanye West’s “Gold Digger” song about 5 times in a row.  You won’t be able to keep from tapping your foot and smiling.  Trust me on this one. 

Your turn.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Bad mother, Confession Thursday, Humor and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Con to the Fession Thurs to the Day.

  1. Mary says:

    As I watched the old man at Kroger today rock out singing very loudly and very much off key to John Mayer. I must confess that on my way home from work I turn the music up very loud to oldies country music (George, Tammy, Loretta, Freddy, Hank, etc.) and sing at the top of my lungs. The people in the cars next to me probably think something is wrong with me but I don’t care I’m having a great time.

  2. YaYa says:

    I have seen you so excited about the purchase of a new Enimen and sat in your ride pretending that was the best music ever, NOT. Sorry, I do not enjoy your love for rap music. But I will happily sit beside you and pretend, b/c that’s what friends do.

    I love beer. I love the smell of it, the taste, the color, the foam, etc. I remember sitting on grandpa’s lap and he smelled like beer. He died when I was 5 in that is my only memory. So, when I drink beer, I think of my grandpa Perry.

  3. Aimee says:

    Now I ain’t sayin’ she a gold digger ….When I’m in need
    But she ain’t messin’ wit no broke, nigga ….she give me money
    Now I ain’t sayin’ she a gold digger….When I’m in need
    But she ain’t messin’ wit no broke, nigga ….I gotta leave…
    Get down girl, go ‘head get down (I gotta leave)
    Get down girl, go ‘head get down (I gotta leave)
    Get down girl, go ‘head get down (I gotta leave)
    Get down girl, go ‘head

    That stuff is what I work out to.

Leave a Reply

