Sony Dream Machine: I hate you.


My alarm clock (sheesh!) did not go off this morning.  My eyes were treated to some fabulous green numbers when they first opened: 6:57.  That’s a fair number, for say, a Saturday, but not for a Friday!  Big E catches the bus at 6:40 (do the math), and the other three catch the bus at 7:15.  Little B had some unfinished cut-n-paste business to take care of involving pictures of things that start with the “esss” sound, and it was “Geek Day” at Tween C’s school. 

I had to make Zohrhubby get up and help me with the mess my alarm clock caused.  It could have been my fault, as I did not have time in this morning’s commotion to check to see if the alarm was actually set, but either way, I’ll lodge a new complaint against the GodForsaken Sony Dream Machine:  there’s too many little green dots on the face of the clock for me to tell whether the freaking alarm is set or not, when I double-guess myself twenty minutes after I’ve laid down.  There’s one for a.m., one for p.m., one for the GPS time correction feature (whatever the hell THAT means), one for the alarm being “engaged” and one more that I can’t quite figure out that is always on so doesn’t mean a whole lotta anything at all, in my opinion.

I’ll pause a moment so that you can bask in my having committing yet another offense against the English language in the form of a run-on sentence, which my grammar checker will surely balk at, but I shall dismiss, once again.

…pause…

Since it’s Friday, and I’ve gone nearly five days with hit-and-miss attempts at keeping kids in uniforms all week by washing ad-hoc loads of clothes, I had to scrounge together outfits for everyone, get Little sleepy B on board with the cut-n-paste duties, and sneak the “Cheezits” in his bag as his snack because he’d have become “unglued” (no pun intended) if he’d have seen that I forgot to buy a new kind of snack for him yesterday.  Tween C managed, almost too easily, to fill the “Geek” role this morning because she didn’t have to bother brushing her hair.  Little A wasn’t pleased with the outfit I had for her, and insisted on another pair of pants (which were still in the hamper),  so I had to reason with her to get her to accept the fact that she is only 4 and I am 32 years older than her and I have the last word on what she will and will not wear on any given day.  In this case, it was the pair of pants that I stayed up an extra 30 minutes for the night before to make sure were clean and in the dryer before going to bed, which may have been partly to blame for the fix we all found ourselves in this morning. 

Zohrhubby had to drive Big E to school, because I had to get in the shower, but tried to refuse my request. “I don’t know where to bring him!”  To which I responded, “Well, it’s about time you learned.  I think you’re nearly 16 year old son can direct you to his school.”  I know, I know.  That’s a lot to ask.  They don’t even speak to one another, directly, unless there’s no one around to talk through.  Even then, they probably just go silent. 

Anyway, I managed to get to work on time, and all the kids got to school, in spite of  that damn Sony Dream Machine.  I’m going to have to send a copy of these posts about how crappy it is to Sony. 

At least my coffee was ready when I got up.  Too bad I didn’t have time to have any.  Damn you, Sony! 

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sony Dream Machine: I hate you.

  1. Aimee says:

    lol. Have you tried setting your phone alarm also? I have a clock radio that is set (actually I purposely use the loud radio technique after becoming oblivious to the beeps) and then I have my cell phone on the night stand and it goes off a few minutes after the clock radio. I like the phone alarm. Once you set it, even if the phone is turned off the night before, it’ll come on to wake you up. And its a different sound in the morning too, so, it helps me wake up.

  2. ZOHRMOM says:

    Okay here’s what you do. Your dad has an ancient clock/radio on the carport which plays practically 24/7. It’s older than God and can’t possibly have many bells and whistles. Trade him for the damn Dream Machine (because apparently the radio under the empty carport is a necessity at our house) and maybe, just maybe you can get part of your mind back. lol

  3. Happytown says:

    is the sony dream machine the little white cube/box shaped one? that’s the one I have. It works fine, I just refuse to get up when it goes off so I always have mornings similar to that.

  4. Get a rooster!
    Mother Hen

  5. zohrbak says:

    You know that person at your office or job who bitches and moans constantly about things but doesn’t REALLY want to hear your constructive, resolutionary advice in response to their ranting? Well, that’s really kind of my personality sometimes. To offer me logical, simple solutions to my problems makes me feel kind of like a dumbass. I mean, more so than usual. lol

    So, I do realize that there’s a multitude of ways to circumvent this type of problem, but none of those occurred prior to THIS MORNING and so I just wanted to vent about them.

    Also, why the hell should one own an alarm clock if they have to set a back up alarm on a cell phone. I’m not ready to desert the Dream Machine just yet. I feel the overwhelming need to CONQUER the damn thing.

    Thanks for listening.

  6. YaYa says:

    My goal this weekend will be to find you an old fashioned tick-tock wind up clock; or option #2 is since I’m up at 5:45 every morning, I will gladly call your cell & house phone until you wake up, as a back up plan.

  7. Summer says:

    It sounds like our household when alarms don’t go off, slept through, or snoozed.

  8. Pingback: Manic Monday « Zohrbak's Blog

  9. Pingback: My Mama Taught Me How to Clean… « Zohrbak's Blog

  10. Pingback: Sorry Sony Dream Machine…Maybe It’s Me, Not You… « Zohrbak's Blog

Leave a Reply

