I know I’m supposed to do something on Thursday….what was it?


Once again, Thursday has rolled around.  There’s something I’m supposed to do on Thursday morning, but what could it be?  Oh, yeah, put together Little B’s homework assignment!  That I forgot to do the night before!  I mean, forgot to have HIM do.  Because of course he googles his own image search of objects that start with a certain sound, and of course I let him use my hair cutting scissors (because that’s all I can ever find) to cut out the pictures, and of course I don’t pull the bottle of glue from his hand impatiently and glue the little pictures into his sound journal FOR him, because that would be wrong.  (And of course I don’t do all of this stuff while shoving a belt in his pants, 5 minutes before the bus comes on Thursday mornings.)

Little B’s teacher tries to make it as simple as possible for me, having his homework fall due on the SAME DAY OF EVERY SINGLE WEEK.  Yet, I still forget, every Wednesday night, that we’ve got homework to do.  How simple can you make it, really?  How scattered am I?  In my defense, we did have a birthday party last night for Big E, who is now officially 16 AND too big for his own britches. 

So, my confession for this Thursday is this:  I’m not a very good school mom.  I forget about things that it is my business to remember.  I overlook important papers copied on brightly-colored cardstock because I assume it is unimportant.  OR, I realize that they are important and so I put them in extra-special spots, and then completely forget that they exist.  And then, when I DO remember that there was something important that I was supposed to do, I can’t find the special spots that I hid the notes in.  Tomorrow, Little B is supposed to have a box with a removable lid that he decorates all special-like, to bring to school for show-and-tell and then keep at home to put his letter/phonics cards in.  I have been re-reminding myself about this all week.  This morning, I was supposed to bring a shoe box to work so that I could wrap it in craft paper and then let him decorate it tonight.  Of course, I completely forgot about this before I walked out of the door to go to work.  I even told myself, in the shower, to make sure to associate my keys with a shoe box.  But it didn’t work.

Again, I must express my complete exasperation with myself, and question why in the world God gave me 4 children to take care of and prepare to go off into the world as responsible, strong adults, when I feel like I am neither responsible, nor an adult on most days. 

YOUR TURN. 

Oh, and P.S.:  Rather than take your constructive critism about these points, I’d really rather hear about your own ineptitude(s)…whether they are about parenting or any other aspect of adulthood.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Bad mother, Confession Thursday, Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I know I’m supposed to do something on Thursday….what was it?

  1. gmansmama says:

    If it helps at all, I did homework this morning as well.

  2. YaYa says:

    I am an inept girl scout mother. There I said it! My daughter has been in girl scouts for 6 years and every year the troop leader will ask for volunteers to help teach a class or do projects & every year I psyche myself up and say – self, “Yes, you can do arts and crafts with some girls!” How hard can that be? VERY! By nature, I am a tom-boy. I don’t know what to do with girls! Example, I am allowing my 11 year old daughter to have a slumber party this Friday night with 8 of her friends and I am silently freaking out about what the hell am I gonna do with 8 girls!!

    • zohrbak says:

      I think it’s very unfortunate that you asked for help with a girls’ slumber party when you have issues with doing girly things with girlies from ME. That being said, we pulled off the other one this year…we’ll do fine. And if we don’t know what to do, we’ll make some stuff up and convince the girlies that it’s cool. 🙂

  3. ZOHRMOM says:

    I keep important receipts (for tax purposes or whatever). Problem is, I usually choose a room to put them in. If I actually have to find a particular item before April first (which is usually when I start gathering receipts) I first have to decide WHICH room it’s in and then determine which PART of that room contains said item. I hate when Zohrdad sometimes asks what I did with the item and he actually looks like he expects me to remember on the spot. I usually mumble something incoherent and start the search immediately all the while praying to whomever in Heaven that has the time to care about me adverting a fuss over something so trivial. I always find it, it just takes a while. At what point do we stop worrying about confrontation about stupid stuff like that? I think I am almost there.

    • zohrbak says:

      Zohrhubby: I’ve gotta find that receipt for that printer I bought three years ago…where do you think that is?
      Me: Uh. I don’t even know where your children’s birth certificates are, what makes you think I’d know where a little tiny piece of paper that has something to do with something I care absolutely NOTHING about would be?
      Zohrhubby: Are you saying you don’t know where it is?

      Translation: I’VE SURPASSED THAT PLACE…A LOOOONNNNNGGGG TIME AGO!!

  4. Oh, all right, Mother Hen will break down and admit that she has had her issues with losing stuff in her nest and hunting all over the coop for an important something that she put somewhere for safe-keeping. There goes her sterling reputation!

    And, well, she doesn’t cook, unless you count microwave popcorn, which she does.

    Then there is the collection of jackets, backpacks, and other assorted outerwear that the chicks insist on dropping on the floor the moment they walk in the coop door. Mother H would have to clear that away (i.e. throw it all in the closet) to open the door and let you in, should you come for tea. (Does boiling water for tea count as cooking?)

    Oh, and heaven help her, once Junior Rooster pointed to a photo of an ironing board in an ad, and asked “What is this Mama?” and MH merely replied, “An antique, sweetie. No one uses those any more!” Granny Hen is turning in her grave now. The old dear used to iron blue jeans!

    That is all that Mother Hen is willing to admit to today. Now she must go and lay down to recover.
    Blushingly yours,
    Mother Hen

  5. Summer says:

    OMG. I am an extra special spot and then forget Mom too. I’m glad I’m not alone on that one.

    Also, I remembered at 11:30 PM last night that my oldest son needed plastic forks for a Pancake -something or other- today. Thank the Baby Jesus that the world for 24 HR Wal-Mart and a husband who can be talked into mostly anything. I can tell you how many times it happens. I don’t know how you keep up with 4. I have three and two are toddlers. I suspect when all my children are in school, I will lose my mind.

    • zohrbak says:

      Oh, yeah, that’s a fact. I lost mine over the summer just THINKING about the upcoming school year! It’s nuts. And Little A doesn’t have homework yet because she’s in Pre-K. I think my brain will begin seeping out of my ears next year.

  6. Aimee says:

    um, did you cancel confession Thursday?

    I can never find anything. Because I lose it, or just throw it away. Just the other day we got grade cards (thats what they call them here, dumb term) and they use the same peice of cardstock paper all year long. It has a fancy sticker at the top of the paper and is important in some way. I threw it away. Cole freaked out when I realized this. It had to be signed and returned. I pulled it out of the trash compactor, brushed the coffee grounds off and set it on the counter so the gross trash juice could dry before i sent it back to school. The next morning it was still pretty nasty, so I made a photo copy of it and sent it back signed. At least it smelled better, right. Well, she sent me a note fussing at me for sending back a photocopy and that she needed the sticker which is nothing more than a bunch of info typed on an address label. I sent one back telling her that she did not in fact want the label since it smelled like a disgusting mix of coffee tuna and rotten chicken. She agreed and said she would make another one. Of course, I don’t know why she didnt do that to begin with.

    Also, I never remember lunch money. Jacob told me that he had eaten a peanut butter and jelly sandwich (what they give them if they have no money) for like 4 days straight. lol. I asked why he didnt TELL me he was out of lunch money again before now. He said he LIKED the PB&J and they won’t let you have them if you have money on your account. Just that he was tired of them now and wanted yogurt. But its totally not unusual for my kids to call me from school and tell me they are hungry and want lunch money. Luckily I can put money on their account on the internet. Or they would be eating a lot of PB&J.

    Also, I cannot tell you how many wrapped birthday presents for other kids I have in the cabinet above the washer. I RSVP,buy the present and then forget about the party. My poor kids will probably have no one show up for their parties…out of spite. lol.

    • zohrbak says:

      That was a Confession Thursday. I confessed to what a crap school mom I am.
      I’m glad to hear that you are, too! lol (especially at the forgetting to send lunch money and your kids calling you to say that they are hungry, and Cole purposely letting his account get depleted so that he could feast on PB&Js for a little while!

  7. zohrsis says:

    The one year I bought some Christmas presents early I hid them in extra special spots and found them a couple years later.

    • zohrbak says:

      I’ve done that. Once. (The only time I ever PRE-BOUGHT Christmas presents too). There’s likely something about us that is related. What could it be, what could it be? lol

Leave a Reply

