Pre-teen slumber party


Candles spell out the traditional English birt...

Image via Wikipedia

I participated in an adventure last Friday night:  A “Camp Out” Preteen Slumber Party with a group of 7 pre-teen girls.  Ya-Ya’s daughter, “Tween A”, turned 11 last week, and Tween C and Tween A have been best friends since they were 4 and 5.  Of course, their relationship has been somewhat strained ever since the bitchy hormones kicked in full force.  I think they will be friends forever, if their relationship survives the cat fights that have ensued recently.  Anyway, it was a great party.  There was a campfire, roasting of hotdogs and marshmallows, candy, chips, dips, coca-cola, fingernail polish, makeup and lots and lots of glitter.  My pillows and blankets and half of my face came home covered in the stuff.  Observing these girls relating to one another was very entertaining.  It brought back a lot of old memories of just being a girl…  when we first starting worrying about stupid boys and what we were seen in public wearing… …it was a nice little walk down memory lane.  Until nearly midnight, when it promptly became time for the giggly girls to shut-the-hell-up and go to sleep.  Then it was just annoying.  But, eventually, we slept, and then woke up and ate birthday cake at 8:00 a.m. It was fun, and I was glad that I had chosen to participate, despite my initial inclination to avoid this scene at the risk of disappointing my friend.  I’m seriously opposed to sleeping outdoors, even in a detached garage, more than 25 feet away from running water and assorted facilities.  But, Lord knows Ya-Ya’s made more than her share of sacrifices for me.  (Seriously.)  This one turned out not to be a sacrifice, save the fact that I was sleeping nearest the garage door, and my butt was frozen when I woke up the next morning.  Several little girls brought me their blankets and tucked me in all nice when I complained, though, which was sweet.  Those little girls are gonna make real good mamas one day. 

 

 

 

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in crazy kids, Humor, Parenthood, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Pre-teen slumber party

  1. YaYa says:

    Z – I did begin to worry Friday, that you were gonna not show, and I wouldn’t have blamed you in the least. YaHubby did bet me $5 that you were not going to return when you left for a brief moment to put all of your own kids to bed, but I knew you wouldn’t let me down! I enjoyed having some time to just catch up and it was very interesting watching the girls and I was terrified that they would all have been disappointed. Tween A went to school Monday & her party was the talk of the class. Apparently, WE ROCK!! Tween A said she had a blast & reminded her of a cardinal childhood rule, you may have forgotten to mention to Tween C – YOU ARE ONLY ALLOWED ONE SLUMBER PARTY PER CHILDHOOD EXPERIENCE! So, we won’t have to do that for many years, until Little A’s turn rolls around. But then, we can make Tween C & Tween A do it, haha…payback!

  2. Aimee says:

    I have never hosted a girl slumber party, but I would imagine that its less destructive than boys’. I have done so many of those I’ve lost count. First, for boys, they are not call SLUMBER PARTIES. I have had this spoken loudly at me many times. We have done camp outs, and sleep overs. It usually involves lots of video gaming, wrestling, yelling, torturing family pets with tape or rubber bands, eating of many bags of doritos and whatever other junk food that’s in or near the house. Whatever room they occupy smells like armpits bc boys do not bathe enough. I collect lien waivers from parents (kidding) and don’t stay with them. I shut the door and hope that my home repair bill wont be too high. It WAS easier when we lived out in the country, bc they could be outside and not bother or hurt anything or anybody.

    I would probably enjoy one filled with glitter and giggles, bc its been so long since I’ve been to one of those.

    • YaYa says:

      Crap Aimee! YaHubby said he was SO GLAD THAT WAS OVER (not like he hid in the house all night, or anything). He said boys don’t do these. I was seriously looking forward to that fact. Oh well, I guess I’ll just make him do it!

  3. ZOHRMOM says:

    I have a great idea…Let Amiee do Little A’s…@YaYa wait til you have so many girls over that they do not fit in the bedroom and just put a blanket on the floor in the closet and have YaHubby walk over them in the living room! Ahhh fun times

  4. Aimee says:

    I would totally volunteer if I wasn’t 500+ miles away! 🙂

Leave a Reply

