Confession Thursday…the few, the proud…the lackidaisical


I started not to confess this one.  Seriously.  It’s a bit much.  But, if you are really going to get inside my head, then I should really tell you this:

I went AWOL once. 

It’s hard to own up to this directly, so let’s do this in a ‘hypothetical situation’ way.  Guess what I mean when I say that I went AWOL: 

a)  I failed to show up at an important event where my presence was anticipated. 

b) I seriously let down a close friend who needed my help, when I shrugged her off and didn’t help out.  

c) I joined the Air National Guard in college, and between the time that I was sworn in and the date that I was to leave for bootcamp, I decided that I would rather not go, but instead would get married and skip the whole “bootcamp” scene, so I just called them up and told them that I changed my mind.

Yeah, you guessed it.  It’s C.

Don’t worry, though, I’m mostly a grown up now. 

Your turn.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Confession Thursday, Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Confession Thursday…the few, the proud…the lackidaisical

  1. YaYa says:

    I’ll support your AWOLness and raise you one. I joined the Air Force, went to boot camp and then off to technical school, all the while being driven crazy by my looser ex-husband, who I was married to at the time, to just get out and come home. Guess what! Not that easy. I won’t tell you how I got out, (I’ll save that one for another Thursday) but let’s just say if you tell them “I won’t pick up a gun to defend my country” they don’t really care. So, I eventually did get sent home and I can never apply for a federal job. Can you apply for a federal job Z? I too have let down a good friend in the past and been fortunate to be forgiven…

  2. AWOL friend says:

    I wouldn’t call it a let down, more of an excuse for me not to go because I would have never made it through boot camp. I forgave you long ago, not to worry about that! My dad is to thank for the MP’s not coming to get us though. The recruiter received our files to send out the MP to pick us up, and he recognized my last name and called my dad. He told the recruiter that I was in fact his daughter and that her and her friend were not thinking straight when we were sworn in. Somehow in that conversation we were excused from duty. It’s all in who you know I guess! When I tell this story, I always get a shocked look from the other person, but I love to tell it.
    How is it that your “confessions” are often a confession that we share? Was I that bad of an influence? I’m thinking it was actually you…. 🙂
    Miss you lots!!

    • zohrbak says:

      Wow. I didn’t realize I was that close getting in THAT MUCH TROUBLE. We were so dumb back then. Hey, call your dad and tell him “thanks” for me, please!

      • Jennifer says:

        I will tell him next time he throws it in my face reminding me that I owe him!! 🙂 It’s good to know people around here!

Leave a Reply

