This just in: Halloween has been cancelled next year.


That’s not true.  But if you in any way interact with my children, please help me keep this story alive.  I’m begging you.

My two youngest children being hopped up on sugar plus sheer excitement-induced delirium makes for an interesting weekend, to say the least.   Little A and Little B started out with the candy fest Friday at school, and by the time I got home, they’d devoured every last bit of the “goodie” bags that came home with them.  I’d already agreed to letting Tween C have a friend sleepover Friday night when I discovered the problem, and it was too late to change plans.  So, an eleven year old girl I’d never met before bore witness to th utter chaos that embodied our home Friday night.  She looked at Tween C halfway through dinner (pizza, of course) and mouthed silently:  OH MY GOD!  She might have actually said the words, now that I think about it.  It’s not like anyone would have heard her, under the circumstances.

Saturday they played outside most of the day, which was pretty uneventful.  The closer it got to Halloween, though, the more things began to change.

Sunday morning, at church, Little B sat very close to the Children’s Minister during the children’s sermon, and his every utterance (and there were many) was broadcast to the entire congregation.  The poor Youth Minister could barely get a word in edgewise.  The congregation giggled and thought it was cute.  The Youth Minister was visibly irritated, as I would have been also, and I felt terrible for her.  We went home, ate lunch, took a 2 hour nap, and then prepared to go Trick or Treating at a friend’s home, where we go every year.  Prior to going Trick or Treating, we eat and visit for a bit as the kids play.  During these “Pre-Game” activities, and after numerous instances of my repeating “Little B, don’t do that” or “Little A, don’t touch that”, “Little B, quit shaking that tree!” and “Little A, stop touching people’s babies!” I’d nearly had it.  In fact, I was about to go inside to tell Zohrhubby that he had to come and watch them before I sustained an aneurysm, when Little B began pulling handfuls of leaves off the tree in the frontyard by sliding his cupped hand down the branches.  “Little B!  I said DO NOT TOUCH THE TREE!”  He looked at me, reached his hand up, and did the exact same thing again.  I came off the porch to go and get him, when I heard someone say behind me: “UGH! THAT’S A BAD KID.”

To make matters worse, he would not stay still enough for me to grab him, and I had to chase him, without success, for several minutes in the full view of everyone who’d just heard what was said. 

Finally, I gave up, went inside, and told Zohrhubby to go out and take the care of the kids or we would just go home.  I got emotional and overwhelmed, so I snuck off to the back to try to calm down.  Once we actually got moving, they were fine.   I don’t know why the comment about him being a “bad kid” upset me so much.  It’s not like I don’t say my kids are bad all the time.  It’s not like I’ve never been embarrassed by Little B’s behavior before, nor do I think that will be the last time.   But there was something about seeing first-hand how frustrated other adults get with Little B that upset me quite a bit.  His days must be filled with so much tension and sadness.  Imagine how frustrating it must be to deal with him every day when I’m not around to corral him.  And I bet that there’s a lot of hatefulness that he encounters as a result of that.   After all, he frustrates the hell out of me, and I gave birth to him!  All these other people have no reason to look past the annoying and irritating and sometimes downright defiant behavior to see the little boy underneath it all. 

On top of all that, this morning Little B got sent to the Principal’s office after getting in trouble in P.E. class.  Rather than have one of us go to school to spank him (again), she went ahead and paddled them after calling to ask my permission.  Of course, I gave it to her, on the phone and in writing.  I feel like he is simply not yet mature enough to suppress some of his impulsive behavior, and other times acts defiantly, as many children do.  I regret that’s he’s a square peg that’s not able to fit into a round hole, and causes so much frustration at school, at church, and in public.  But damn it–he’s only 5!  He’s a sweet kid, and he doesn’t deserve to be made to feel bad all the time.  I will try my hardest to stop being so impatient and demanding about things that aren’t important.  He will feel loved at home.  He will not be a disappointment at home like he must feel like he is at school and other social situations.   

I think we’ll stay home a lot more often until things get better.

 And we’ll go ahead and start telling them now that Halloween’s been cancelled next year.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in bad kids, Bad mother, crazy kids, Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to This just in: Halloween has been cancelled next year.

  1. Zohrmom says:

    Tell him I love him. I love you too.

  2. YaYa says:

    I am so sorry this happened last night, I had no clue and I feel really bad. If it was one of my immediate family members please let me know & I will quickly kick some butt & if ya’ll don’t want to return next year I will understand.

    I have often thought & wondered what Little B must feel during his days of trials and I want to just squeeze him and tell him I love him!

  3. annette says:

    You have more years of parenting under your belt than I do and you hit the nail on the head when you said that “he’s only five”. Believe it or not, I think about your Ben all of the time. I feel for him first and his mommy second.

    Sending you a huge supportive hug.

  4. Jules says:

    Z—I have been reading your blogs and kept silent, while seething at home. I feel like that frigging school has just pegged him as a bad kid, and they will never see the “good” boy that he is. I’ve read over and over your frustration, and feel for you as I’ve gone through similar times with my youngest. To the point that I went past the teachers, the principal, all the way to the school board as well as written letters to the State board. Didn’t do any good, but sure made me feel better! Other parents seem to forget that a child is only 5…Do you remember my oldest son at 5? You were in High School and probably thought I had no idea what I was doing as a parent…lo and behold…he grew up is now married and leading a very productive and successful life. I’d like to bring him back to that elementary school…find his old teacher and well….I’ll keep this G rated and just say, tell her a thing or two! Big M told me horror stories of what the teachers there said to him, did to him while we were there. Of course, he tells me this as an adult—never said a word before, if he had, there’s no doubt in my mind I would have done jail time for things they said/did to him. There are good teachers out there…but there are alot more teachers that want little robots, on ritilan, to be seen and not heard. I say if you don’t like your job working with children, helping mold them into productive little people, then get the hell out of the system and find another field! Yep, I’m convinced they have “labeled” little B…and I really really (want to say hate) but will say don’t like them a WHOLE lot for it! You are a good mother, and one day when you see little B all grown up being the wonderful man he will be one day….hopefully one of these teachers will be coming to him for a job…won’t that be sweet revenge! Sorry to rant…I just felt your pain and frustration in your blog….and it really pissed me off! A final word to other parents who say things about other people’s kids….remember what happens when you spit in the wind….it usually comes right back at ya! Love you girl…keep up the good work and give little B a big (((((HUG)))) from his Aunt J he’s never met—yet!

    • zohrbak says:

      Thanks Jules. I know that you’ve been around the block when it comes to this stuff. I thought that Big E was a once in a lifetime sort of experience, but I guess I was wrong. It’s hard to be pulled in so many different directions all at the same time.

      I appreciate your words of support…miss you and love you bunches!

  5. zohrsis says:

    I love you, and I love little B, and the whole damn lot of you..warts and all sista. Keep your head up.

  6. Mother Hen justs wants to mention that Halloween (if it falls on a weekday), is actually only the second-least favorite day of preschool and primary school teachers.
    The worst day is the day after Halloween, when in the morning the little darlings arrive tired and cranky, down from their sugar buzz of the night before, and then by the afternoon are tired, cranky, and all sugared up again from candy at lunch and recess. Fun!
    Mother Hen is so glad that chickens don’t celebrate Halloween…at least not officially, and if anyone tells her chicks differently the feathers will fly!

Leave a Reply

