On this Installment of Confession Thursday…


Smiling can imply a sense of humour and a stat...

Just look how funny this guy is.

 

…I confess that I sometimes fear that I am losing my snarkiness, and thusly will become less funny.

Humor makes up such a large portion of my body and personality, that on the days that I am down, and don’t feel humorous at all, I literally weigh 65% less, in actual pounds, though I feel much heavier because the humor part of your makeup is mostly made of a helium-type substance that gives the rest of your body a feeling of “lift”.  Don’t you feel lighter when you are happy and laughing?  That’s why.  It’s been scientifically proven.  I’d look up the link for you on that medical research, but I don’t have the time right now…there’s a dictation tape staring at me…so you’ll just have to trust me on this.

Anyway, if I allow myself to become less jaded, will there be nothing for me to make fun of?  If I brighten my outlook, will I lose my anger-driven rants, the afterglow of which make for hilarious reading?  I don’t know the answer to these things, but I worry about them sometimes. 

I think that’s a little crazy, I’ll be the first one to admit it.  But it is what it is.  I truly worry that brightening my outlook would have to result in being less of a smart-ass,  and I’ll lose a large portion of my sense of humor, and part of my identity.  I’ve never met a real smart-ass who isn’t a pessimist at heart. 

Your turn.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Confession Thursday, Humor and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to On this Installment of Confession Thursday…

  1. ZOHRMOM says:

    I promised last night, so here goes…During my what I refer to as my “growing up years”-really a loose term to describe that period in my life), actually I was around twenty and plenty stupid – a bunch of us decided to pile in a guy’s car and leave a perfectly good bar in Opelousas to drive to another perfectly good bar in Lafayette.
    Back then, I weighed approximately 120 lbs, but thought I had a HUGE tummy, so I bought a little panty girdle. After several drinks, the panty girdle seemed stupid (not to mention uncomfortable). I decided to remove it when we stopped at a restroom between the two bars.
    Having nowhere to keep said item, I discreetly rolled it up and stuck it under the seat in front of me to remove later. Needless to say, I forgot all about it. Meeting the guy the next week, again at the first perfectly good bar-he asked if I had lost anything. Um,no, I replied. I don’t think so.
    It seems his dad decided to wash his car over the weekend and discovered the girdle.
    What I have not mentioned was that this friend was engaged and his fiancee was not with us on the excursion.
    I was quite sure his dad could investigate the incident and discover who the item belonged to, seeing as how he was the DA for St Landry parish at the time.
    Happily, Billy went on to marry his girl. Don’t know if she ever found out, but it was all completely innocent, I swear.
    There you are.
    Your turn.

  2. ZOHRMOM says:

    I don’t know, but Randy and I were swapping stories last night before class and I remembered this one. Randy had a friend who stashed panties in his glove box and his wife found them. That one was worse than mine. Apparently we are two derelicts and need all the Jesus we can get at these meetings. BTW, Mark was not in the room at the time. lol

  3. YaYa says:

    I worked for a veterinarian around the Houma/Gray area when I was in high school & she raised minature horses, minature pot belly pigs and minature cows. There was a boy that also worked there that I had a crush on and we were beginning to become friends. One day the vet lady comes home and says I need to help her with the “breeding progam” for the min. horses. I followed her out the barn and then I saw a small stool and an extra small stallion who was very excited to see his lady horse. Guess what my job was??? To make sure the little bitty stallion could stand on his back 2 legs on the stool and have a grand ole time. So, there I am, doing what I’m paid to do and here comes cute barn boy – no long after that he quite working there…. I was a horse pimp in high school…..

  4. Mother Hen has it on good authority that the snarkiness is a genetic trait. One cannot be de-snarked.

Leave a Reply

