Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down…


Today is Monday, and it is cold and rainy outside.  I am not feeling it today.  I sort of feel like I got jipped out of a weekend, though I have no right to feel that way.  Saturday I took Little B on a special shopping expedition, just he and I, as I had promised to do Friday morning if he made an effort to behave at school.  He brought home a B in behavior, so I took him to Target to shop for Ya-Ya’s Little J’s 2 year old birthday gift, and let him pick out a little sumpem’ sumpem for himself and Little A.  He was so funny, and talked the entire time we were gone.   “Mom, why are all those rain dots coming down on us?”  “Rain DROPS, baby.”  “Yeah, that’s what I said, RAIN DOTS.”  And when I told him how good he was in the store, he said, “Yeah, you know why I was so good in the store?” “No, why?”  “Cuz I used a lil’ magic.”  “Well, save up some of that magic for next week at school, okay?” “Okay.”

Little A was a little ticked about the whole idea, thank you very much.  I explained to her that it was Little B’s special trip because he was good at school.  She told me that she’s always good at school, and she’s never been on a special trip.  You can say a lot of things about my kids, but you certainly can’t say that they are dumb.  Consequently, I have a date with Little A next Saturday.  And if Little B gets an overall good report this week, I’ll have to take him somewhere too.  I’m not complaining, mind you, it’s just that my social calendar is suddenly booked solid! 

Little B sustained a gushing head wound while playing basketball at Little J’s birthday party.  He hit his head on the underside of a trailer when he went to retrieve the ball.  He sort of wandered around for a few minutes feeling on his head, when he finally came around the corner, moaning, with both hands covered in blood.  I ran to him and tried frantically to find the source of the bleeding on his hands, when suddenly blood began running down the side of his face!  It was quite traumatic, and Zohrhubby nearly passed out!  Once I got him cleaned up and could see the wound, it wasn’t so bad, and stopped bleeding shortly after I kept pressure on it. 

When we left the party, I dropped ZH and 3 kids off at the house, and went to bring Tween C and Tween A to church for a youth event, and when I got home, found out that ZH had been greeted by the sound of running water under the floor boards in the hallway bath.  My house needs to be re-plumbed.  Terribly.  ZH spends most of his free time (and much of his already committed time) under our house fixing leaks.  I haven’t gone into the crawl space to actually see what it looks like, but it probably looks like a Franken-plumbing nightmare.  Poor ZH and Big E spent nearly 4 hours under there, in the muddy cold, fixing that dad-gum pipe.  I relaxed by the fireplace since I didn’t have running water to cook, do dishes, do laundry or bathe anyone.  It was terrible. 🙂  I did have to do a lot of explaining, as the little ones kept going to the fridge to get water out of the dispenser, and nothing would come out.  I had to explain where the water comes from, what had gone wrong, where daddy was, and why there was no water until he was done.  They didn’t like it, and try as I might, I still think that they thought that he was under ground, instead of under the house.  When he came in, he did look as though he’d been under the ground, and so that didn’t help clear matters up at all. 

Anyway, there’s nothing like a gushing head wound and a water pipe bursting to make you slow down and appreciate the little things in life.  Like non-bleeding skulls and water that comes out of the dispenser when you want it to.   And a healthy family and good friends to spend time with.  Not to mention a husband who is willing to crawl under a dark, damp house to fix a water pipe on a Sunday evening…without complaining as much as he used to, which is pretty awesome. 

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in crazy kids, Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down…

  1. ZOHRMOM says:

    Awww sorry…and today you got jipped out of a Monday too.

  2. YaYa says:

    I too feel like I got jipped out of my weekend, but then again I can’t seem to remember the last weekend that didn’t feel like that on a Monday morning. We love our kids and husband and so we fall in last place often times & even though I bitch & moan about not having any “me” time, I love the fact that my kids feel loved & important and my husband doesn’t have a care in the world.
    We enjoyed having ya’ll over for Little J’s 2nd birthday and I’m glad Little B didn’t dent the trailer with his head or get blood on my carport.

  3. Summer says:

    The amount of blood that comes from a simple head wound never ceases to amaze me. I have three boys, you’d think it wouldn’t bother me anymore.

    I know exactly what you are saying about getting jipped though.

    • zohrbak says:

      It was like Carrie at the prom. Well, I could be exagerating a little. But it was close. Okay, it wasn’t really close, but it was still traumatic! I know you know exactly what I mean.

      Some Mondays I wish I could yell “Do-Over!”.

  4. J Edwards Wright for Mother Hen
    One of the things that we actually did right was making monthly “dates” with our kids. Well, not exactly monthly — one month he took Kid D and I took Kid T, and the next month we switched.
    I hadn’t realized how rarely each kid got one-on-one time until we did this. Kids are better behaved when they have your undivided attention guaranteed from time to time.
    I think you may be on to something!
    Jodi

Leave a Reply

