Parent Teacher Conferences


I had parent teacher conferences with Little B and Little A’s teachers this morning.  I was a little anxious about Little B’s conference, for reasons you should all be aware of.  

My anxiety was unfounded.  Little B’s teacher was super nice and polite and gave me some great news:  Little B is progressing very well academically, and as far as his classroom behavior goes, is definitely getting better.  It’s all the places in between my front door and the door to his classroom where he is having issues.  But she seems to understand him, as I hoped she eventually would, and is running some interference for him with other parents and other teachers so that he can have some time to learn how to handle himself in these situations, in time.  

Little A’s teacher was likewise very cordial and had good news about Little A:  She’s not even in the same realm as Little B when it comes to behavior. 

I couldn’t help but leave the school with the sense that my blogging has indeed done more good than harm, as I feel like the school (as a whole, I’m not pointing any fingers here) is starting to understand our family and it’s demands and might even sympathize with me in some ways.   I get the impression every time I have a conversation with someone at the school that they know much more about us than I’ve divulged to them in person.  They are mentioning little things here and little things there that are of no consequence one way or another, but that I know they’d have no reason to know had they not read my blog.  And that’s perfectly okay with me.  I’m glad to have them on board.  Good or bad, right or wrong, I know that they can see now that my intentions are good.  That I want the same thing that they (surely) want, ultimately:  For Little B to learn and grow and be happy.   

So, my slinking into the building was replaced by a confident stride out of the building.  I wasn’t so preoccupied with what they were thinking or talking about as I walked by.  The important thing, you see, is that Little B is getting better.  Something is working.  There are still some bad days, and situations that are problematic, but he’s got someone who understands him and wants the best for him there, and he’s trying.  So, what more could you want?

I marched out to my car, started the engine, and as I put on my seatbelt.  Suddenly, my peace and contentment and self-assuredness was replaced by a startling realization: Everyone in that building  probably read yesterday that I pee in the shower.  How big of a doofus am I??!! If I were Chinese, I would have already been exiled for bringing shame to my family!  The are arranging a “Shame Parade” in my honor as we speak!

 

Of course, you don’t know what I’m talking about, because I told you not to read that post.  So never mind.

 

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in bad kids, Bad mother, Blogging., Confession Thursday, crazy kids, Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Parent Teacher Conferences

  1. Aimee says:

    YAY for good teacher conferences!

  2. ZOHRMOM says:

    I knew that one would come back and bite….ROFLMAO

  3. zohrsis says:

    hahahahahaha

    oh, and btw, go Little B !!!

  4. Ms. Z.,
    Mother Hen told you teachers were your friends!
    Little B and Junior Rooster seem to have a lot in common, other than one being human and the other being a rooster. Just little stuff like that.
    Congrats to Little B and Little A on good reports, and super congrats to their Momma for surviving to see this happy day!
    Joyfully yours,
    Mother Hen

Leave a Reply

