May I Take Your Photo? Friday! (I assure you, I am not a stalker. Okay, maybe I am.)


I was on a mission yesterday.  As you are all aware, there were wild rumors abound  concerning the alleged filming of Ghost Hunters downtown where I work.  I started my mission by casing the building where I assumed they would be filming on my lunch hour.  Here’s what I found:

Curious...they don't normally have barricades and cones around this place. Hmmmm.

So, I can see there’s SOMETHING going on…but no sign of the TAPS guys or TAPS vans anywhere.  The two block walk to the hotel to investigate reminded me I was hungry, so went to the only place downtown to grab a bite.  On the way in, my fellow stalkers and I noticed a group of three men and a woman, all dressed in professional attire heading toward the same cafe, but they went to the wrong door and had to go back to get inside.  “Hmmmm.  They must not be from around here,” I surmised. “I wonder if they are producers for the show.”

We were too chicken to ask them outright, though we were sitting two booths away from them.  So, when one of my fellow stalkers’ sister in law came in, we recruited her into the role of “investigator” and sent her down to their table to ask. 

“Excuse me,” she said like a pro, “Do you guys happen to be producers for that tv show, ‘Ghosthunters’?” 

“No!  We aren’t!  But we wish we were!”   (Ha! Ha!)

Embarrassed, she quickly told them that we (pointing at US) made her come ask, and quickly left the cafe.

We were likewise embarrassed, but were left to suffer our shame as we had already ordered our food.  When they got up to pay, though, one of the men leaned down to me, pointed at another of the men, and said, “You see that guy right there?  He really is with the show.”  So I ran over to him, the one I had pegged already because he had one of those white patches of “I see Dead People hair” on the back of his head like Haley Joe Osment in ‘The Sixth Sense’.  He smiled, but whispered immediately to me, “I am with the show, but we can’t really make a big deal about it…okay?”  I caught on immediately, rocking back and forth on my heels and crossing my arms over my chest.  “Okay, that’s cool.” I whispered back, with a huge giddy smile on my face. “I’m just a HUGE fan of the show.”  “Well, we are filming at the hotel down the street.”  “Okay, cool.  Thanks!”  and they were gone.  I felt like a little kid, who’d just been told where the candy had been hidden since Easter.

At 4, I left work and picked up Tween C and her friend, Tween S, to bring them back downtown to sing at the lighting of the Christmas Tree.  We’ll refer to this as my “cover”.  (That’s not to say that I wasn’t interested in watching my baby sing, I’m not a total whackjob, I was just grateful to have a valid reason to be hanging around downtown after dark.

The Christmas scenery was beautiful, by the way:

 Anywhatevertheheck, while I was waiting for Tween C’s choir group to sing, I made my way down two blocks to check out the action.  With very little foot traffic down where I found the TAPS van and some of the crew standing around, I had to pretend to talk on my cell phone (outloud) and be on the lookout for someone I was supposedly waiting for.   Once, I even said real loud, “Hang on a minute, I’ll look it up for you” and then held my phone up in front of me to snap a photo:

That's the TAPS van in the upper right, and two camera men on the left!

It didn’t take long for them to get wind of my stalkishness.  Then a friend and co-conspirator texted me that she had just seen the guys coming out of an old historic restaurant nearly two blocks down, and that they were heading toward me.  I started walking in that direction, but never saw them.  Then she texted me again and said that they had gone back inside.  I stood in front of the restaurant, which was guarded by a City Cop, and looked inside and could see them on the top floor of the restaurant! 

Do you see what I see?

I waited for a long time, and nothing happened.  They were filming inside.  I went back over to check on Tween C and they still weren’t even close to singing yet.  I went back and sat on a bench between where I saw the TAPS van and the restaurant, and before long, a camera guy walked past me, and then there was Steve!  I said, “Hi Steve!” and he nearly jumped out of his skin!  I told him I was sorry for scaring him, and went on to say that I was big fan of the show, or something equally retarded, and asked him if I could take his picture.  “Uh, yeah, sure…”  “I’m sorry, if that’s weird, is that weird?” “No, no, not at all.”  I snapped the picture and then I told him that I wasn’t a weirdo.  As he walked away, I realized that serial killers probably tell people they aren’t serial killers when they invite them into their cars.  I felt creepy. 

Hi STEVE! MAY I TAKE YOUR PHOTO?

A few minutes later, I met Jay and Grant (Jay shook my hand) and saw Amy and Eric (from Ghost Hunters Academy).  I didn’t get their pictures because it all just happened too fast.  After Tween C ‘s group sang (which was beautiful, by the way) I took her and Tween S over to where I’d seen them all, because Tween C is also a huge fan of the show.  She got to see them inside, and then Tango walked past us heading inside the restaurant.  I yelled, “Hey, Tango!” and he waved and said “Hi.” in a low oh-my-goodness-you-people-are-scaring-me sorta way.  I jumped up and down giddily because I had gotten to see all of them!  Tween C stared at the ground and begged me to shut up and stop. 

It was all very fun and I had a great time stalking pursuing meeting these people.  I was exhausted by the whole thing, though.  This morning’s paper says that they will be here for 8 days.  Omigod.  Rather than make a total ass out of myself, I am going to steer as clear of that area as I can for the next week.  I swear I will.  Probably.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Blogging., Humor, May I Take Your Photo? Friday, Paranormal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to May I Take Your Photo? Friday! (I assure you, I am not a stalker. Okay, maybe I am.)

  1. ZOHRMOM says:

    I am so happy that you have realized a dream…lol you are a whacko.

  2. YaYa says:

    I think you may have finally gone over the edge!! it was funny watching you do this from the sidelines…

    • YaYa says:

      I went home and told YaHubby he needs to call you crazy phsyco stalker next time he sees you! Who ya gonna call?? GHOSTBUSTERS!!

  3. zohrsis says:

    no you won’t lol

  4. Pingback: The Super Fantastic 100th Blog Post! « Zohrbak's Blog

  5. Pingback: Ghosthunters « Zohrbak's Blog

Leave a Reply

