Ghosthunters


Wow!  This week has flown by.  Apparently I’ve been too distracted to keep up with my own schedule.  I missed another Confession Thursday!  Let me tell you why…(as if you didn’t already know)…

You all know the recent goings-on that culminated in my taking a photo of Steve Gonsalves of TAPS a couple of weeks ago.  Well, yesterday, the Ghosthunters reveal was filmed at City Hall.  Eighty people from the area were invited to (on a first-come first-serve basis) participate in the filming of the show.  I was able to secure a spot for myself, Tween C and Big E.  I was so excited about it, as was Tween C.  Big E was super-duper excited.  (About getting to miss school, that is.)

We signed a confidentiality agreement about the events that occurred during filming.  What I can tell you is that we spent a lot of time in a little room with some super guys who were down to earth, willing to answer questions and talk to everyone, and kept us laughing.  I am also happy to report that they had some pretty terrific things to say about our hometown.  Apparently, we are a very hospitable place (who knew?) and they enjoyed all the time they spent down here.  That made me happy.  I’ve watched every episode of this show, you guys, so I can vouch for the fact that these guys are family oriented and sincerely concerned about the people who call them for help.  I’m glad that they were treated with respect while they were here, because I’ve got a lot of respect for them, and I’m thoroughly entertained by the show.  If you’ve never watched it, I want you to know that these are NOT the guys who go into places and call out for demons and overly dramatize every situation they find themselves in.  They go into each location with the mindset that there are likely many logical, non-paranormal explanations for what people think they are experiencing.  They set about first of all to debunk the “haunting” explanations for these experiences.  If the place is likely not haunted, they will be the first ones to tell you that.  You may watch several episodes and never see strong evidence of a haunting, which is what makes those episodes where they do find evidence of  paranormal activity  so believable and exciting. 

Hey, paranormal stuff is not everyone’s cup of tea.  I get that.  You all know how I feel about it.  But on top of the subject matter being so damn interesting to me, I’m equally entertained by the chemistry between the cast, the serious way they tackle each location, and the occasional humor with which they execute their jobs. 

This was the first time that they’ve had a “live audience” participate in the reveal.  It’s also pretty rare for them to investigate three different locations for one show in the same area.   It was a rare opportunity to see them in action, and I’m grateful for the opportunity.  Having shared this experience with my kids was the icing on the cake.  They thoroughly enjoyed it.  Even Big E admitted as we were leaving (and several times thereafter)…”That was pretty cool.”  You’re not going to get a more animated response out of my 16 year old son, guys.  Not ever.

 Overall, this was one of the best experiences I’ve shared with my two oldest kids.  Thanks, TAPS and SyFy for making it happen.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Blogging., Family, Humor, Paranormal, Parenthood, Spirituality, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ghosthunters

  1. ZOHRMOM says:

    I can attest to Big E’s enthusiasm. To quote him, it “was not just cool-it was really, really cool”. I was also pleased to witness everyone’s extremely animated conversation about the experience. So happy that all of you enjoyed the day together.
    I did love Bradley’s KALB interview. He was so excited, I bet he could have peed his pants!

  2. YaYa says:

    What a wonderful treat for you and your kids to get to do together! I would have loved to see Ethan’s enthusiasm & I’m going to start watching the show so I can see what I’ve been missing.

Leave a Reply

