You know what they say about laughter being the best medicine?


Well, it’s true.  Laughing makes me feel good.  Other people laughing with me makes it all the mo’ betta.  So, I’ll tell you right off that the following post is not supposed to bring you down.  Because I’m not “down”.   I’m just venting.  Don’t get all depressed or anything when you read it.  Okay?  Because that’s not cool.

I don’t write or talk about it very often, but some of you are aware that I have Fibromyalgia.  It has been pretty well-managed for the most part for the past 3 and a half years or so.  At first, the good days outnumbered the bad days, then they were sort of randomly 50/50.  Now, I’m starting to notice that I have definite brief periods of “remission” where I am not really bothered by constant aches and pains, though I am never completely pain-free for an entire day. 

Wow. Only a drama queen would put this picture in this post. lol.

Of course, when I’m not in a period of “remission”, then I am having more problems.  I’m currently in what I have read described as a “flare”.  My whole body aches.  My head hurts.  I am not sleeping well.  I have fatigue.  Some days it’s fatigue like the flu.  Zero energy.  This has been going on for at least 3 months now.  I’m still not limited to the point that I can’t get out of bed, and I’m happy to say that I’ve never missed a day of work because of this crap.  However, there are many days I feel like I am dragging my body around and just filling space until I can get home and lay down.  When the pain turns to a bad “burning” sensation, I take a pain pill and a little while later I feel better.  This lasts for about 3 or 4 hours.  I limit myself to one pain pill a day, even though it doesn’t make me sleepy.  I just don’t want to get to the point that I can’t function off of the pain meds. 

As a result of all this, combined with my longstanding contempt for exercise in general, I’ve become inactive and deconditioned. 

This is totally something that I would do. That's why I have a small dog that doesn't need "walking". lol

I really feel like if I could push through some of this and get in shape that it would make me feel tons better.  I’m going to make a huge effort to start this next week.  Next week I will also be turning 37 I think.  Or 38.  No, it’s 37.  I know because I have a handy-dandy adding machine on my desk.   I am tired of feeling like I am so old.  

"The Boss" is 60? He doesn't look a day over 59.

It helps tremendously that Zohrhubby is understanding and does his best to take care of things that he knows I have problems with.  There is a certain amount of guilt that goes along with not feeling good when you know that there are plenty of things that need doing, so having a husband who tells me that that stuff is not important at least helps make that part a little better. 

Anyway, since I feel like I’m getting worse and the Lyrica is not helping me as much as it used to, and the side effects are getting worse, I am scheduling an appointment with another doctor in town who treats fibro with methotrexate and/or remicade.  Treating this has been a maze of doctors, opinions, medicine, and gut instincts.

I hope that this is the right move at this point.  Keep your fingers crossed. 

Maybe later today I’ll have something funny to say.  I’m sort of counting on it. 

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to You know what they say about laughter being the best medicine?

  1. ZOHRMOM says:

    I really wish I could take the pain from you. Maybe the fibro was the cause of the PMSing from yesterday? What’s funny is that you put “the Boss turns 60” up and I will turn 60 in about 3 weeks. See? Now who’s admitting that I am “the Boss”? I love you.

  2. YaYa says:

    My fingers are crossed & I really think he will be able to help you. I completely understanding the burning pain & complete lack of energy & these meds have made a world of difference for me!

Leave a Reply

