Happy New Year!, etc.


It’s a new year.  Does this make you reflective and nostalgic?  Does the passing of yet another year make you feel older?  Well, yours truly gets a double punch. 

Every year, I have another birthday.  It happens without fail–on this very day–every single year.  Some years it upsets me, other days it makes me happy.  This year, I am 37, and am absolutely indifferent.  I think that’s the first time that’s ever happened.  To get me in the “spirit”, I looked up some quotes and proverbs that reference age… 

Richard Needham ~For the first half of your life, people tell you what you should do; for the second half, they tell you what you should have done.

Plato ~ The spiritual eyesight improves as the physical eyesight declines.

Tom Wilson ~ Wisdom doesn’t necessarily come with age.  Sometimes age just shows up all by itself.

San Banducci ~ Old age comes at a bad time.

Mignon McLaughlin ~ The time to begin most things is ten years ago.

Leon Trotsky ~ Old age is the most unexpected of all the things that happen to a man.

François de la Rochefoucauld ~ Intellectual blemishes, like facial ones, grow more prominent with age.

Diana Cooper ~ Age is an ugly thing, and it goes on getting worse.

Bernard Baruch ~ To me, old age is always fifteen years older than I am.

Soren Kierkegaard ~ Life can only be understood backwards, but it must be lived forewards.

 That all sounds very WISE…doesn’t it?  Of course, I’m more known for my WISE ASS…so here we go, I’m going to beat you all to the jokes:

Look, my coworkers got me this crown so I'd feel special on my birthday!

 
 * * *
 

It's hard for me to say when he looked better. Love the music....but do I want to see him live? Apparently, that's no longer an option.

 
* * *

You have absolutely no idea how TRUE this is for me.

 
* * *
 

No comment or explanation could make this any better.

 
* * *
 

I love this.

 
* * *
 

Is this why all old people say whatever they want, without regard for your feelings?

 
* * *
 

I am famous for making my kids think I'm dumb, old, and out of touch on purpose. It's a strategy I like to use so that they don't try so hard to outsmart me...gives me the upper hand.

So, there you have it.  I am getting old and even though I went through all of the foregoing exercises, I still don’t even care.  Feel free to make fun of me if you like, but I’ve probably already covered it, so you’d be a copycat if you did.  And Little B and Little A will be the first to tell you that “copycat” is a bad word! 

On another note, I was, in fact, dreading this day for another reason:  It’s the first day back to school from the Christmas holidays.  Much to Quaid’s upcoming disappointment, I have no funny stories to tell about what an epic failure it was…because it wasn’t!  The kids and I did very well, thank you very much, and the whole morning went off without a hitch!  It must have been the Lord’s Birthday present to me!   {looks up, says, “THANKS!”}

Don’t worry, though, we’ve got a LONG time before summer, so there’s plenty of time for my screw ups in the mornings to lend themselves to your reading pleasure. 

Also, I just half-ass started a diet and walking regimen.  No, it’s okay, you are in fact still reading Zohrbak’s Blog.  Don’t hit the “back button”.  It’s me!  I just wanted to put you on notice that I’m going against my self-professed hatred of exercise and giving this thing a shot.  Your support is fully expected and appreciated in advance.   (lol) 

Happy New Year, everyone!

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy New Year!, etc.

  1. YaYa says:

    My favorite – San Banducci ~ Old age comes at a bad time.
    I became absolutely indifferent to my birthday about 2 years ago, that is why if you ask me my age, I have to get out a calculator. Some days I feel 5 years younger and other days, more often than not I feel 7 years older, so for sanity purposes I choose to not even acknowledge my birthday…So this coming year, when my birthday rolls around & I turn what ever the heck age I become, please don’t remind me.

    I’m glad the good ole’ man above gave you such a great birthday present to start your day off!!

  2. If you are only as old as you feel, Mother Hen is 104 1/2. Don’t forget the half! At this age every second counts!

Leave a Reply

