“National Holiday Recovery Day”


The hustle and bustle of Christmas is over.  I went to a store Sunday and was shocked at the lack of activity.  There were very few people mulling around in there.  The clearance section with 75% off of the Christmas decorations was even barren.  “That’s it,” I thought.  “It’s finally over.” 

Then I went home, and my Christmas tree is still up.  The new toys are strewn about the floor.  The new clothes with tags still on them had made their way to the laundry, because the kids would rather bring them there to be ‘handled’ than to bother putting them away themselves.  The dog looks like a homeless mutt because I’ve been preoccupied and she’s been neglected.  It’s not over.  The aftermath of the holidays will lurk in the air and seep into my pores, making me sick with its chaotic toxicity until I get these things taken care of. 

I image searched "Chaotic Toxicity" and this came up. It's cute, isn't it? I don't see the connection, but whatever.

I have to make room in closets, purging the old and incorporating the new.  I have to take down the tree and this year I’ve promised myself that I won’t just throw everything in a Rubbermaid container and leave the trouble of untangling the tinsel and lights for next December.  I’ve got to get the excess CRAP out of my house.  It’s weighing me down. 

In all fairness to me, this is not my house. And it's not this bad. But it certainly feels that way...so I wanted you to get the full effect.

SOOOO…I hereby declare January 5th to be “National Holiday Recovery Day” on the authority that I am the author (and I use the word “author” very, very loosely here) of this blog and what I say around here goes.   By January 5th,  all the kids are likely back to school, and not so much time has passed that you and I have grown absolutely ill from toxic shock syndrome, and so we should all band together and take a sick day, though it’s a more of preventative medicine day.  Your company probably doesn’t have such a day, so just tell them you have some quickly-passing viral deal and make it sound icky enough that they won’t want you anywhere NEAR the office.   Get the kids off to school, and then purge, my friends!  Purge!  Get it OUT!  Get it DONE! 

OMG. This is absolute and total bliss to me…nothing would make me happier!

And then, take a nap.

Like this guy.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Blogging., Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “National Holiday Recovery Day”

  1. Mare says:

    I agree with this 100% but I will have to until after the 18th when H goes back to college and I will not have anyone bothering me until Marehubby comes home at 3:00. I might even use that time to have the message that H gave me for Christmas. WOW, this sounds like a plan, now maybe I won’t be such a bitch anymore but I doubt it.

  2. ChaseK8 says:

    I am with you on this one, although I did manage to get the tree down (the day after christmas) I opted for the rubber maid option! I do need to purge though so I to shall spend the day gutting this “ghetto” I somehow call a home!!! Great Idea 🙂 Thanks….

Leave a Reply

