Thursday Confessional


Wait, is it Thursday?  Why, yes!  Yes it is! 

Step into my confessional, dear readers…I’ll lend you my ear!

But first, of course, I must make a confession. 

As you all know, I have been on a “diet” since the first of the year.  I hate that word.  DIET.  It sounds so faddish. 

Live tapeworm eggs?! Wow! (I wonder if there are any side effects.)

Let’s use the term “healthy eating exploration” instead, or HEE for short.  Okay, let’s begin again.

As you all know, I have been on a HEE since the first of the year.  I have–more or less–been following the guidelines set forth in the book “The Zone” by Dr. Barry Sears.  For the most part, this has been pretty simple.  And easy to follow.  And I’m losing weight. 

My confession today is that temptation has not been a big problem during this HEE.  However, last night, on my way home from church, Zohrhubby texted me and said, “I need you to stop and get the kids a special treat”.  I knew exactly what this meant.  He’d had to promise them exactly this to get them to do something that they really really did not want to do.  What that was, didn’t really matter.  The fact was, he’d had to play that card, and they would not have EVER forgotten it had he not come through.  It was my parental, no, my wifely duty, to stop and purchase something that was “out of the ordinary” realm of treats.  It had to be “special”.  So, of course, I stopped at a gas station near the house, and began my quest. 

Candy bar?  Nah.  Not special enough.  Gum?  Eh.  That’s so last year.  Chocolate covered peanuts?  OH. M. G.  I love chocolate covered peanuts!  Really?!  No.  Not really, but all of a sudden, I was overwhelmed with the urge to rip open a pack of chocolate covered peanuts and shove the entirety of its contents into my mouth at once.  I shuddered, gathered myself, and moved on.  Candy corn?  Oh.  Yes!  They LOVE candy corn almost as much as they love candy canes.  It’s like the forbidden fruit that only becomes available once per year.  Why it was there, on that shelf, in January, I have no idea.  But candy corn it would be!

I started walking toward the cashier, and without warning, I was jerked back toward the candy section.  The chocolate covered peanuts were calling out to me.  “Zohrbak!  Don’t leave us!  We want you to take us home with you toooooooo!”

What could I do?  Leave the creepy talking candy on the shelf?  I’m not that kind of person.  I mean, come on.  Chocolate covered peanuts are people too.

The kids were more than pleased with my selection of their “special treat.” 

I took the bag of chocolate covered peanuts to my room and ate them.  And therein lies today’s confession.  And I don’t even feel bad about it, either.

Your turn.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Blogging., Confession Thursday, Diet and Exercise, Family, Humor, Parenthood, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Thursday Confessional

  1. My confession? hmm. I’m thinking about dropping out of college (again) to go to culinary school. Will I do it? eh… Probably not. I’ve got another mouth to feed. But I really, REALLY want to.

    • zohrbak says:

      Is culinary school NOT a passion that you could do when you finish college? Like, get the “back up plan” out of the way, and then pursue your passion? Just a thought.

      • Definitely. I’m sticking with school because it’s practical. I mean, I’ll always have a job in the medical field. And, as you know, I have a one year old. While culinary school is only 16 months long, that’s 16 months w/o a paycheck. The Gabe needs food and food costs money. But it is a dream of mine that maybe I’ll get to one day. And if not, I can always teach myself. 🙂

  2. BTW, side effects of ingesting live tapeworm eggs is probably death. Or severe discomfort. Either way… not a good way to go.

    • zohrbak says:

      Here’s a proper “signs and symptoms” list, in case any of us are, in fact, considering the “live tapeworm eggs” diet.

      • Abdominal Discomfort
      • Diarrhea
      • Constipation
      • Malnutrition
      • Muscle Weakness
      • Neurological Damage
      • Seizures
      • Weight loss
      • Tapeworm Segments on Clothes or in Feces

      You had me at seizures…

  3. Mare says:

    I have also chose to HEE but I am going the Weight Watchers method and I think I am doing ok in keeping with the plan but and here is my confession.

    I have to admit I didn’t just eat one bowl of chicken and dumplings for supper last night I had two and enjoyed every minute of eating them. I had to waddle to bed but so what they were SOOOOO GOOODDD.

  4. YaYa says:

    If I had the nerve to swallow tape worm eggs, I would be VERY afraid they would try crawl out the back end. That’s what I thought of when I saw that picture.

    I’ve been participating in HEE for about 3 years now, which started off originally as Weight Watchers, (It works Mare) & yesterday I went into a McDonalds started to place my order and only by forced did I drag myself out of there to go back to my office and eat a salad. I was so proud of my will power!! So then I went to church for supper and ate a foot long super creamy philly cheese steak sandwich which was SO delicious. I believe my body is so happy when I splurge and eat something really really good that it consumes all of immediately, not causing me any weight gain…

  5. Miz Tiz says:

    love the illustrations

Leave a Reply

