Dustin’ off the old Soapbox…Vol. II


 

This just in:  Jesse James is engaged to Kat Von D.  And you know what else?  I don’t give a flying flapjack. 

Uh...you might want to have that thing screened for diseases, Kat. And Jesse.

In related news:  Kelsey Grammer is set to wed his mistress in February…and his divorce isn’t even final yet.  And here’s another tidbit you’d be interested in knowing:  I couldn’t be less concerned with Kelsey Grammer’s love life.

Out with the old...

Why am I telling you this if I don’t care about it?  I’ll tell you why:  Dumb people are mucking up the news.  So, someone had an affair and destroyed his or her marriage?  That’s not news.  That’s not shocking or newsworthy.  That’s life.  That’s what is going on in America every single day of every year.  People hurting other people or falling in and out of love at their whimsy.  Famous people do it, and absolute nobodys do it.  It’s a disease–not news.  And it’s certainly not entertainment.  Of course, you celebrities are always looking for that next Oscar, or Golden Globe, or some kind of recognition…so, here you are:

I'd like to see THAT trophy. Or, maybe not.

Here’s a tip, famous dumbasses:  follow the cue of the smartest people in Hollywood.  Keep your private business private.  When you show up on Letterman, decline to comment about your love live specifically.  Speak in generalities.  Have a bit of mystery about you, already.  Going on TV and spilling your guts about such things to me is the moral equivalent of a stripper.  Things covered up are much more attractive to what should be your target audience. 

And to you, tabloids and papparazzi:  Shut right the hell up.  We are all ready for some GOOD news, for a change.  We will not buy in to your hype and your glamorization of all things immoral and hurtful and negative.  Get a frickin’ life and leave people the hell alone.

OMG! Look! Brittney's going out for a latte' and a pack of cigs! Quick! Get a picture!! Surely she won't do this again in three hours!!

 
The celebs and the media aren’t the only ones to blame for this abhorrent situation this world finds it in.  It wouldn’t be this way at all if we all (and by “we all” I mean them…not me or you, dear reader!)  weren’t a bunch of hate-mongering voyeurs.  We MUST stop giving a rat’s ass (my old stand-by term) what other people are getting themselves into.  Whether they are celebrities or the woman who works in the cubicle next to you.    Because their is a thin line that you might cross…

Don't be "that guy."

 
Mind your own damn business.   And I’ll start minding mine. 
 
My Soapbox moment is over…feel free to discuss.
About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Blogging., Humor, Soapbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dustin’ off the old Soapbox…Vol. II

  1. Dear Ms. Z.,
    Females who marry males with multiple look-alike wives in their history are fools.
    That goes double for anyone stupid enough to think that just because he fooled around with her on his previous wife, he won’t fool around again on her.
    Next topic?
    Wisely yours,
    Mother Hen

    • zohrbak says:

      Agreed, MH. However, I think my point is that we shouldn’t care to warn the dumb blonde that she’s getting herself into trouble. We should ignore the whole thing and move on to more important matters that deserve our attention.

  2. JB says:

    You are so right! That is exactly why we get all kinds of celebs here. No gives a crap! I was just walking through Whole Foods the other day and walked right past Giovanni Ribisi. Everyone was chattering about him but everyone respected him and left him alone. I love New Orleans! Tell those papparazzi the way it is!

    • zohrbak says:

      I love that guy. But I have to admit that I didn’t know his name…I had to google Giovanni Ribisi. I was expected a muscular dark italian man to pop up, but instead I got a photo of Phoebe’s brother on friends. Seriously. I heart him. Even though I didn’t know his name.

      When I was in New Orleans two years ago, I left my hotel room and walked two blocks down Canal to get some coffee, and passed Jason Stathem. When the look of recognition and amazement crossed my sleepy, bed-hair framed face, he smiled at me. But, again, it was cool how he was just walkin’ around.

  3. Summer says:

    I couldn’t agree more. Get this crap out of my news!! It’s actually in the news. That’s not news. I heard an interview with a journalist about a year ago. He said that he would love to write other pieces. Other pieces don’t sell, he said. America wants smut. It disgusts me.

  4. Miz Tiz says:

    those last pictures of the posters about “fags” and God make my stomach churn. How can people be so cruel to think that my beloved, loving God is going to laugh at someone’s death!

    As for Brittany, and Paris, and Jesse James, and Lindsay and all the rest………….boo, hiss, who gives a rat’s ass. (*and yes you’re right, it’s a great expression)

  5. Aimee says:

    I feel the same way you do about papparazzi, but I think its bc thats how I think I’d feel if for some reason they were following me to Walmart. I am not so sure that stars don’t kind of LIKE being the center of attention. Maybe not all of them obviously, but at least the ones who spread every thing out on the table for everyone to see. Ya know what I mean? Its hard for me to feel really sorry for all of them.

    Also, It is sad that all the celebrities out there are doing this stuff so publicly and acting as if their behavior is ok. Why IS bad behavior such interesting news? There are young people out there beginning in relationships of all kinds, and the example they see is THAT type of behavior. They are looking at celebrities and being led to believe that these are admirable ,successful, people. Their behavior is telling them its OK to be behaving that way, even that its COOL to do things like cheating, or drugs, or whatever. Sickening.

Leave a Reply

