Confession Thursday Volume Whatever the Heck it is


Okay, people.  It’s Confession Thursday.  It’s time to come out of your own virtual closet.  Man up and confess something already.  I know, I’ll start us off.

As you should already be aware, I am self-professed hater of all things Oprah.  If you didn’t know that, then you should read this before continuing with this confession. 

You are probably also aware that Discovery Health became the Oprah Winfrey Network, or OWN, on January 1st. 

I was quite anxious about losing Discovery Health, because there were plenty of programs on that channel that fed my need to obsess over health problems without becoming actively involved in actually doing anything about them.  It was my hypochondriacal guilty pleasure, if you will.  I had some resentment against Oprah for doing this.  Why did she have to hijack an already existing channel?  Just to show how much power she has?  And how fitting that she named it OWN, since I have said from the start that she intends to take over the world.  One day, I presume, she intends to OWN every thing and every single one of us.  And who would resist her?  She’s very charismatic, that one.  I would take no part in this…I decided.  I would boycott the channel altogether out of sheer disgust.  

Hiss Hiss. Booooo.

So, January something or another rolls around and I’m scrolling through the on-screen tv guide.  I notice that OWN is listed on the screen, and remembered that I had intended to block the channel (or just take it off my favorites, if you are being particular).  However, while I was in the process of doing this, I noticed that the program playing at that particular time was “Mystery Diagnosis“.  “Well,” I thought to myself, “the queen of the world does have a heart.”  I decided to give it a chance.  And here is my confession:

I freakin’ LOVE the OWN.  I have watched and already become addicted to “Enough Already, with Peter Walsh” (Oprah’s OWN version of Hoarders) and “Miracle Detectives“.  There’s even a behind the scenes show about the Oprah show that I will confess I have watched way more than I am proud to profess. 

Now.  It’s your turn.  Man up.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Confession Thursday Volume Whatever the Heck it is

  1. ZOHRMOM says:

    I happened to be at home sick on Monday when Oprah presented her long lost (but until recently undiscovered) half sister. The sister is cute and petite and looked really beautiful next to the old, wornout version of Oprah. I confess that I did not know that someone who owns as much and has so much control over EVERYTHING in the universe would let herself go like this.
    I have been away from daytime television for a while now, but Jeez…She looks like crap. Anyway, I digress…
    Patricia (new sister) knew she was Oprah’s half sister since 2007 and did not say anything until just before Thanksgiving 2010. Says a lot for her character. I can’t help but wonder about the control she has over her two grown children to make them keep their mouths shut about it.
    Can you imagine what’s gonna happen when I come out as the third sister Patricia? Will my two otherwise intelligent daughters lose it altogether and sell the story to a tabloid? You bet your bippy they will! Just sayn
    Oh, BTW, my confession? Wishing I was Oprah’s third sister Patricia. I don’t care what rich sis looks like…

  2. Catherine says:

    I watched that episode also. I want to know what she bought her– a house/car or some big ticket item?
    I can’t stand Oprah either, but I am addicted to the Behind the Scenes show and Miracle Detectives. I even record them!

  3. YaYa says:

    Tuesday morning I went to check my email and I saw a caption that read, “Oprah finds her long lost 1/2 sister, now that’s nothing new the black community!!” The article made tacky humorous comments about how a black person can walk down the road, meet someone and then find out through fellow acquaintances that he/she are 1/2 siblings. I fell out laughing & wanted to post the link to my facebook website, but the article was somewhat racist. I tried to google that sentence and I can’t get to come up. I guess since she OWNS the universe she had it removed from the infinitely never ending world of the internet.

    • ZOHRMOM says:

      This conversation could take SO many turns…not only black community, but I have friends who live in the various places that come to mind. lol

  4. Happytown says:

    today’s Friday.

  5. Aimee says:

    I am rolling around on my floor laughing hysterically, peeing on myself, and crying.

Leave a Reply

