Confession Thursday: The Morning After…


I bet you were very concerned about THAT title…Eh?  No worries.  I’m talking about the morning after watching the Ghost Hunters Season 7 Premiere.  On which my two oldest children and I appeared.  And a couple of my friends.  That part was awesome.  My daughter, Tween C, got lots of “face time” because, as Zohrmom immediately pointed out right after watching the show, “She is beautiful”.  And, she is.  The camera LOVED her.

And I mean, c'mon...why WOULDN'T it?? Love.

If you saw her on the show, she had on her glasses and her hair was straight. 

The back of my head and Big E’s head likewise got a lot of camera time.  Unfortunately, I spent most of my time getting the FRONT of my head camera-ready, so the tv did not show my best side, since, if you combined all the time I’ve spent fixing the back of my hair for my entire life, it would not add up to the few minutes that camera stayed focused on the back of my head on that tv show last night.  (What can I say, mirrors make me feel dyslexic.  I’m just not that coordinated.) 

All kidding aside, I would be remiss not to tell you how I felt about the show, having built up so much adieu here, in these virtual pages, about the entire experience.  And, I’ll go ahead and call it a “Confession”, since it’s Thursday.  So, here it goes:

I confess that I hated strongly disliked was sorely disappointed by the show.  Being a long-time fan of the show, I can tell you, it was not one of their best.  My first complaint is that they spent 16 days filming in our city.  They got some pretty good evidence, as fully explained to the live “reveal” audience during our two and a half hour filming session.  But only a small portion of what they showed us made it to the show.  It was impossible for them to get it all into a net forty-minute show.  Why spend so much time and money filming something for 16 days and NOT turn it into a 2 hour premiere?  Huh?  ‘Splain THAT to me. 

The saving grace for the show was that it was all so familiar.  And that there were local people to see on tv.  But beyond that, it was rubbish, really.  (I LOVE the word rubbish, by the way.  Such a fancy word for such a vexatious definition. [Go ahead, look up vexatious, I’ll wait.]  Anyway, I plan to use the word rubbish a lot.  Also, I would point out that it’s a little pompous for a non-British person to SAY the word rubbish, so limit your use of the word to writing, to avoid running the risk of appearing pompous.  Of course, maybe you like that sort of thing–I don’t know.)

I think I got off the subject.  What was I talking about?  Oh, yeah.  Ghost Hunters.  I wasn’t “freaked out” or “scared” or anything.  Not that I usually am by the show, but there was just no “wow” factor in it.  Had I not been a part of the filming, I would have thought they didn’t find smack.  Instead, I know that they did, because I experienced the reveal in real time.  I heard the evidence with my own ears.  None of that stuff translated to tv well.  And some of the most exciting evidence wasn’t shown at all. 

I just don’t get it, really.

All of that being said, I wouldn’t trade the entire experience for anything.   The eldest Zohrchildren and I really had a great time.  And, there’s always the plus that our area got some much needed attention and the most impressive part of our area was featured on national television.  Maybe now they can sell the Bentley.  That would be cool. 

So, back to my normal life. 

Did you watch the show?  Let me know your thoughts.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Blogging., Confession Thursday, Family, Humor, Paranormal, Soapbox and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Confession Thursday: The Morning After…

  1. spiceblogger says:

    First of all, my confession is: I fell asleep during the reveal. ! 😦
    See, I’m narcoleptic. I can’t help these things. I often rely on my husband to keep me awake for vital things like seeing my friends on a nationally televised cable show! He failed and did not notice I was sleeping until the last 5 minutes of the reveal. (I was asleep for about 15 minutes.) Anyway, I missed seeing your beautiful daughter. I did see the back of your head and the front of Paul’s a few times. So now I have to find the episode online and watch what I missed last night.

    BTW, what did they find at the live reveal? What I saw on the show last night was not that creepy.

  2. I haven’t seen the show yet! I was watching Jambalaya this morning, though, and someone said that they didn’t find some ghost named “Sylvia” (???) at the Diamond Grill. Sylvia… I think that was her name. What’d they find out about the Bentley?

  3. shauna braden says:

    I watched the show today and I have to say it was good to me cause I never watch it( maybe a few times since my daughter Rachel likes it) and I have to say that in the five years that I lived there I went downtown maybe once or twice, never had a reason to I guess. So I didnt recognize any of the places that they filmed. But all the history of the sites were interesting. And I must say Z you and your kids were fabulous!!!! 🙂 Love seeing people I know on national television!!!! And I will say that the back of your head looked goregous….not a hair out of place. So where should I look for you next….any plans to do more tv???? LOL

  4. YaYa says:

    Every time we saw y’all I had to pause it so Tween A could point you out and she thought that was AWESOME how Tween C was seen so many time. She is beautiful!! I was VERY disappointed in the show, where was the thermal camera? For a season opener it sucked and I hope it’s not an example of the rest of the season. Small P even recognized KK. I think the footsteps at Hotel B were from homeless people.

  5. ZOHRMOM says:

    I am so totally NOT into ghost anything. I did watch the show for the premier appearances of my offspring. I will most certainly reiterate how beautiful my most favorite 12 yr old granddaughter is. I will do the same for my beautiful and most favorite 30 something daughter is as well as how handsome my most favorite 16 yr old grandson is! As for the show, I watched and will probably never watch again(unless and until they show the rerun or come back and personally invite my celebrity family and friends to participate again). I do also want to go on record that Mare’s Big H is also beautiful and I am proud to know her and her parents (realizing of course, that the more smoke I blow now will most certainly help in the future when she is more famous than she is today) Sorry Z-but I did not like the show :(((

  6. Summer says:

    1. Because I’m a mother of three, the title “Morning After” had no sexual connotation for me. At. All. Whatsoever.

    2. She is adorable. You done good.

    3. I think if you don’t have a British accent, you should be forbidden to say the word “rubbish.”

    4. I didn’t watch the show yet. I will though. For you.

  7. Judy says:

    Maybe I fell asleep too, because I don’t remember seeing any children. Maybe they were at the reveal?

  8. Miz Tiz says:

    My daughter Heather has adopted rubbish as one of her favorite words since residing in Britain a few years. I love how the little kids say “I’m pretty good in literacy (meaning reading), but I’m rubbish in maths.” (meaning of course math). Actually maths makes sense, since there are several kinds, and they don’t all resemble each other any more than biology resembles chemistry.

Leave a Reply

