DON’T POST ANGRY!! (Too late)


 

Okay.  I’m pissed.  And it’s probably a really BAD idea to post about it, but I have nothing else I’d rather discuss.  You know that rule I have about not judging each other?  Well, that’s only on Thursdays. 

"Honey, get me another roll of toilet paper, please!"

Zohrhubby, as you know, has a few issues when it comes to money.  The biggest of those issues is:  He’s a shopper.  I mean a shopper shopper.  A lover of “things”…a buyer of “stuff”…and a hoarder of “possessions.”  I’ve had enough.  I have been at this place before.  I put my foot down.  I demand change.  Change happens, for a short time, and then I let my guard down, tired of being the “bitch” in the relationship, and slowly but surely the monster creeps up on me again.  I have been struggling with a decision most recently to hire someone to come in and help me keep the house clean.  It’s difficult to work full time, have four children, and keep everything as clean as I’d like it to be.  If I had the basics covered for a reasonable price, then I could focus my energy on other things, like organizing and de-cluttering and such.  But, I’ve resisted this because I couldn’t quite justify the cost.  Yesterday, I came home from work and there was a new computer in the den that I’d not been notified would be sitting there.  And I’m freaking LIVID about it.  If this were the first time this had happened, it’d be different.  But it’s not.  It’s not even a computer.  It’s $400.  That’s what we are talking about here.  It’s a used mini-Mac.  Am I impressed?  No.  Was it a good deal?  I don’t give a shit.  Did we need it?  Abso-freakin’-lutely NOT. 

In a world where I am the most viable candidate to handle the money in a relationship, all is lost, dear readers.  But that’s exactly what’s about to happen at my house.  ZH is going to be given an allowance, and I am going to take over the finances. 

I dread this.  I didn’t want it to be this way.  In the past, I’ve forgotten to pay such vital things as the electric bill, as you know, and had to pay to have it reconnected.  I’m forgetful.  That’s not a good thing.  But, in my opinion, it’s a helluva lot better than FLAGRANTLY WASTEFUL WITH MONEY.   Flagrantly.  Yeah, I went there.

And on top of the waste, I have to put up with all this shit in my face all the time.  I move things around every weekend to clean because there’s no place to put all this stuff.  I am a minimalist, dammit.  And all this crap that we don’t need is really cramping my freaking style. 

"...help..."

Sorry for the rant.  And it’s probably less than cool to post a raving lunatic freakout against your husband on your blog.  But my kids take the heat on this thing all the time, and you have to admit that I even give ME a hard enough time in these posts.  So, ZH takes the hit today.  That’s what you get for marrying a chick who talks too much about her issues. 

Rant.  Over.  (Not really.)

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Bad mother, Blogging., crazy kids, Family, Parenthood, Procrastination, Soapbox, Technology, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to DON’T POST ANGRY!! (Too late)

  1. Mare says:

    As I tell myself at least twice a week, I LOVE MY HUSBAND, I LOVE MY HUSBAND, because he has pissed me off to the point that I could probably put my fist through a wall or his face.

    If you can’t rant on your own blog about your husband where are you suppose to rant. This is your blog and you should be able to bitch, moan, rant, scream, shout and cry about things all you want.

  2. Summer says:

    Oh. Honey. You are, in fact, singing to the choir. I was informed last night that my husband had already made a deal on some $700 rims. The hell? I am not happy. At. All. Because we needed a new computer. Also, I would love to have a housekeeper. Really bad.

  3. Gabe’s dad was like that. The only difference was that he was spending money and was jobless. IRRITATING!

  4. My ex-husband was like that. He thought that credit was a terrible thing to waste, and that saving money meant buying something on sale.
    We lost the house, including my inheritance from my grandmother that I used for a down payment.
    Note that I said he was my EX.
    I tried to rein in the finances too, but I stink at numbers as well. I also got really tired of all the whining.
    Good luck Zdub! I’m pulling for you!
    Jodi

  5. Miz Tiz says:

    I grew up in a household like that. Mama was a patient soul when Daddy would spend for “his” stuff at the same time she was scrimping pennies on the grocery bill. She reached her limit over the air conditioning. We did not have any, and she had been begging and he had put her off, citing finances. Then he went out and bought a “weasel” for duck hunting. . . . .well, it wasn’t pretty what happened next. While he was gone off on his hunt, she bought the air conditioning units, had them installed and charged it to his account.

    Good luck on the project of taking over the finances. I’m like you, in that I have been known to forget bills (or hide them under a pile of papers) and then get in trouble with the electric company or phone company or whoever. . . . .

    Hang in there girl! Yesterday was the Ides of March, so you should have been on the alert to beware of something…………..

  6. Miz Tiz says:

    p.s. A weasel, in case some of you don’t know, is an expensive amphibious vehicle for navigating shallow lakes and swamps better than a boat can. ‘Nuff said.

  7. YaYa says:

    Yahubby was camper shopping in Lafayette yesterday and he got mad at me when I told him, if he pulled up at the house in a camper I would divorce him. He said he didn’t think that was grounds for divorce. I said, fine, I won’t divorce you but you’ll be living in and don’t think your allowed in this house for anything, not even to use the washer and dryer and you sure won’t be getting any nookie in that camper and since I pay all our our bills, I will forget to pay the camper note and I’ll be more that happy to let the repo man know where he could find YaHubby….

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

