I feel better already…


In the midst of all of the travesties of life that one must endure, a ray of hope:  My new cleaning lady starts tomorrow.  Hooray!  Hooray!  (Feel free to take a moment of silence in revererence.  Yeah, buddy, it’s just that big of a deal to me.)

Moment of Silence. Aaaahhhh.

Now, there are bigger topics of conversations that should probably be tackled:  The Earthquake, Tsunami and Nuclear crisis in Japan; The UN’s authorization of military force in Libya; the fresh oil slicks surfacing in the Gulf of Mexico…to name only a few.  But I’ll leave all of that to the people who are qualified to make commentaries on such matters that effect so many people.  I’ll take the lead on this one: The Zohrhouse is going to be CLEANED each and every Wednesday, by someone other than Zohrstruly, and I’m totally digging the whole freaking idea.   I’ve been cleaning up Zohrfamily’s messes and wiping and re-wiping and wiping once again things that never stay clean for so long I’m afraid I’ll lose a little of my identity. 

On second thought, I don’t give a flying flapjack…I’ll find a new identity.  One less concerned with how dusty the hardwood is.  Now, don’t misunderstand.  A cleaning lady once a week does not a completely pampered queen make of me.  I’ll still do laundry.  I’ll still have to wipe stuff.  Hell, I’ll probably have to wipe it at least twice.  But the heavy work, the work that kills my back and my neck and sucks the essence of life right out of me is going to be taken over by someone who seems to have MUCH more energy than I.  And for that, I commend her.  Thank you in advance, ma’am.  Thank you. 

As I walked her out yesterday after going over all the details, she said, “Oh, my, there’s some french fries on your front stoop.”  “Yeah, I’m not sure how that happened, but don’t worry, I’ve got a cleaning lady coming over this week to take care of it.”  Tacky, no?  Yes, but it was a JOKE.   

When she left, Zohrhubby said, “She’s coming EVERY week?”  Spoken like a true man who has never cleaned anything other than his plate for the past 42 years.  “Yes, honey…EVERY week that we live here, she will come.  And if we move, then she will follow us.”  Duh.  Jeez.

I don’t think there’s ever been anyone in the history of the human race who was more excited about having someone come over to clean her house.  Like.  NEVER.  I’ll let you guys know how awesome it feels to walk into a clean house tomorrow afternoon without having broken a sweat.

If there are bathrooms in heaven, then this is what they look like. And you don't have to kill yourself to keep them this way. Amen.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in bad kids, Bad mother, Blogging., crazy kids and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I feel better already…

  1. ugh. I WISH I had a cleaning lady. Hell…. I’d take a laundry lady. I’d rather clean than do laundry any day.

  2. Miz Tiz says:

    I don’t know what I would have done all those years w/o a once a week cleaning lady…………it’s manna from heaven! One of my late husband’s greatest pleasures (he was the neatnik and H and me the slobs) was beating us home on the cleaning lady’s day and just sitting and surveying the place and drinking in the lovely feeling of a clean, neat, tidy house. Once his women arrived, it may have been clean, but it wasn’t tidy and neat! You go girl, enjoy all you want!

  3. spiceblogger says:

    HOOOORAAAAY FOR YOU!
    I’m excited and happy for you. I know what the joys of a clean house can do for one’s soul. Enjoy. πŸ™‚
    (and…I get a free cleaning–which I will probably give to my sister for her house)
    πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  4. Zohrmom says:

    I couldn’t be happier if she was coming to my house (well, maybe I could-but just a little!) Hope it’s everyting you’ve dreamed of for the past 17 years!!!!Love you

  5. Catherine says:

    I have someone clean my house every two weeks! I know what Mr. Tisdale felt like. I run home on that day and relish in the glory of my clean house. No toys on the floor, no handprints on the mirrors, and everything is in it’s place. Even when I clean myself — it is never that clean! Congrats!

    • Miz Tiz says:

      absolutely! When I clean, it’s the living room/kitchen one day……the bathrooms another day………the bedrooms another day. It just not the same as coming home to that glorious (though too brief) moment of a totally clean, shiny house!

Leave a Reply

