Thoughts for the day…


I can’t wrap my brain around one subject for more than 5 seconds at a time today.  It’s a side effect of motherhood, wifedom, full-time employment, and constantly trying to sneak a moment of self-reflective creativity in the mix. 

So, I’m going free style today.  Hold on, kids.

I need to quit being so somber and negative. My mother is worried about me.  I know this because she called me since my last post and she’s like, “Hey, how’s everyone doing?”  It’s not like she doesn’t ask me that everytime she calls me.  But I sensed a tone in her voice that said that she’s been worried about all my stuff.  That’s not what this blog is about.  I’m not telling you all my shiz-nit so that I transfer any of my worries to you.  Getting them down on virtual paper helps me sort out the muck from the actual problems.  I can organize my thoughts, get a game plan together, maybe even solve some of them.  Your comments and suggestions do help, but they are not what I am relying on to get through these days.  I am owning my issues.  I am differentiating my actual “problems” from the issues I am making up in my head.  Some things can be resolved by stopping the worrying.  Some things take action.  So, mom, stop worrying.  I’m on it.  It’s all good, boo.  Oh, and I love you.

I saw a lady at the grocery store the other day.  “Hmmm.  Could that be Carmen?” I thought to myself.  She sort of looks like the pictures that I’ve seen of her?  No, that’s not her.  I’m not going to make an ass out of myself and approach her.  I spent the rest of the trip to Kroger thinking about how crazy the world we live in is…where you can feel like you are actually FRIENDS with someone whom you’ve never met.  I have at least two of those that I can think of.  Abby lives in Denver.  We met through mutual friend Quaid on Facebook.  We relate to each other so well…our humor is torn from the same cloth.  I mailed her some Community Coffee the other day because she was bitching about the quality of the coffee at her job (among other things that bug her about her job).  Carmen is also a friend of mine whom I’ve never met.  We know each other because she started reading my blog.  She sent me a nice email.  We became friends on Facebook.  We talk nearly every day there.  We play Words with Friends together too.  We are buddies.  But we’ve never met.  I truly feel like I am friends with these women.  I trust them.  I confide in them.  It’s pretty wacky, actually.  If you really think about that.  I told myself for a moment that I should write a blog post about how crazy I am to consider myself friends with people that I wouldn’t know if I passed on the street.  It’s a totally different thing from seeing those people around town that you are “FB friends” with because you knew each other at one point in your life, but you wouldn’t really have a reason to speak to them if you saw them in passing somewhere.  C’mon, we all have some of those, right?  Right?!

So, anywho, I got home from the grocery store.  It was my turn on WWF with Carmen.   There was a message from her.  “Did you go to Kroger today after work?”  OMG!  YES!  I had to tell her how crazy seeing her and suspecting that it could be her but being too worried about embarrassing myself to approach her.   She did the exact same thing that I did.  She also agreed that we are friends, even though we’ve never met. 

I changed my mind about the crazy part.  It’s actually pretty cool.

The kids are going to be out of school for one week and one day, beginning tomorrow.  My children, when bored, are very very dangerous creatures.  Hail Mary, Pray for Us. 

Easter is Sunday.  It’s my FAVORITE religious holiday, and my LEAST FAVORITE reason to boil eggs.  Thank goodness my momma does that, instead.  She used to have the kids over to do it, but I think she finally learned her lesson.  She does them alone now.  She’s getting smarter as she ages.

My boss is perturbed at me.  I misplaced a copy of a paper that I made him a copy of.   He’s having me search relentlessly for the OTHER copy.  The copy that he has just won’t do.  I hate paperwork. It’s the DUMBEST thing in the world.

Well, not as dumb as this: You remember my cat, right?  Well, she made herself a facebook page this morning.  I didn’t even know she was in house, until I found all the cat hair around the computer.  I traced her down by pulling on the mouse until she came out from behind the curtain.  So, anyway, be her friend.  She’s pretty kewl.  Search for “Ocho Pendejo”. 

Okay, those are my thoughts for today.

What’s on your mind?

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thoughts for the day…

  1. Zohrmom says:

    I can worry and wish I could take some of the stress off of you if I want to. So quit worrying about me worrying, okay? After all, your rock did not fall far from the tree (to quote Big E). As for Ocho, I already signed up so go home at lunch, let the cat in so I can be friended. Oh, I already got the eggs. No worries there! I love you too.

  2. Carmen says:

    I’m so glad that we agree that we are friends. Now we just have to do the meeting part, and all will be right. I hope you get to feeling better. I have those times as well. And no matter how old we get, Mamas will always worry about their babies. I hope your house stands after the week and one day and that y’all have a wonderful Easter.

  3. Mare says:

    Where’s the comments about lunch yesterday? I thought that would get at least a small mention in the blog today since it is Thersday.

  4. Miz Tiz says:

    One of my dearest friends I met online on a blog…………….went to Alabama once to meet her. (this after 2 years of lots of conversations via computer and a few via phone). Of course you and Carmen are friends. You know when you are.

    I will look for your cat. That is ultra cool, ya know. Maybe one of my cats would like to be friends. NoOlivia probably would too, but she is not to be trusted after our recent debacle in the car.

  5. YaYa says:

    My thought for the day have absolutely nothing to do with your blog. I am not enjoying plastic easter eggs!! Little J totted in the house and we had to hide, out the house and we had to hide them, in the tub, in my chair, lets put coins in them and shake them vigorously while mom is trying to watch Swamp People, throw them across the living room and finally… he had to sleep with them. All dozen plastic little eggs and for an hour he laid in the dark opening and closing those damn little plastic eggs. If I see the easter bunny this year I’m gonna PUNCH HIM!!

    Thanks, I feel better.

  6. You play Words with Friends? I totally want to play against you! I go by Black Cat. Yes, just plain and simple Black Cat.
    Hope I see you there!
    Jodi

Leave a Reply

