The 10 Things I Want for Mother’s Day This Year…


I’ve been tossing around a few ideas about Mother’s Day.  What would make me happy?  Truth is, I want at least 10 things for Mother’s Day this year.  I know that sounds selfish, and that I might be asking too much, but I hope not.  Here they are:

1.  I want the mother who’s never felt the warm embrace of her autistic child to have him look knowingly into her eyes, speak without words a heartfelt thank you for fighting for him and devoting the majority of her time and energy to his needs without want for acknowledgement,  and then wrap his arms around her neck and squeeze her like he’s never going to let go.

2.  I want the mother who has lost her grown son or daughter to war to never know that feeling of loss and pain and sorrow.

3.  I want the woman who has always wanted a child but has for whatever reason not been able to have one, to be able to push that one last strong push and then hold her new baby on her chest and cry the tears of the joy she never thought she’d know.

4.  I want the child who has never felt safe or loved to come home to the family they’ve never had, a stable home with parents who care about him.

5.  I want the little child in Africa who is raising his younger siblings because he’s lost both of his parents to AIDS to be adopted by a family with the means to take that burden off his back, because it is too big of a burden for a child to carry. 

6.  I want the woman who is raising her grandchildren because their mother is in rehab or prison because drug addiction has shattered three generations of lives to know peace and rest and happiness.

7.  I want the young mother who is alone and scared to seek support and help, rather than doing anything she might regret.

8.  I want the mother who feels stuck in an abusive relationship because she doesn’t know how she will care for her children on her own to be brave and get out while she can, because staying might be doing more harm than leaving ever could.

9.  I want the mother who has a broken relationship with her child to ‘give’ when she can and ‘take’ when she will to fix that relationship, when it can be fixed.  And I want the adult child to ‘give’ when she can and ‘take’ when she will to fix the relationship with her mother, when it can be fixed.

10.  I want to be satisfied with what I have, every day…even the “bad” days, because even they are good, and blessed, and full of promise. 

Happy early Mother’s Day to all of you, because whether you are a mother or not, you have a mother, living or not living, and it’s a special day for reflecting for each and every one of us.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Blogging., Family, Parenthood, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The 10 Things I Want for Mother’s Day This Year…

  1. Zohrmom says:

    You are an amazing person. I am constantly in awe of you.

  2. Your posts always make me smile. Wish I had your insight. 🙂 Happy early Mother’s Day, Zohr!

  3. YaYa says:

    Wonderful, Awesome & Spectacular!!

  4. YaYa says:

    Awesome — What a wonderful list for mother’s day! & now I feel guilty for asking for a TV.. :0)

  5. nanan says:

    what a wonderful wish list- sure would be awesome if it could be one that comes true. May your day be Blessed and be the best Mother’s Day you have ever had-

Leave a Reply

