School’s Almost Out~Oh Joy!


 

 

 School’s almost out for summer.  Woo Hoo!  I’m so tired to dragging child after child out of bed…day after day after day…it’s wearing me right the hell out.  I’m ready to get up in the morning, drink my coffee in peace and quiet and then take a shower without little people coming in and out of the bathroom asking things like, “Where’s my school shirt?”  “Do I have any clean socks?”  “Can you give me $5 so I can buy a ticket for the dance today?” “I need lunch money” or, the best of all, “Hey, I missed the bus, you gotta hurry up and bring me I only have 3 minutes until the bell rings.” 

Yes, one morning…after the number of tardies Big E accumulated started to become a Federal issue (I’m only exaggerating here, it was clearly only a State issue) he ran into the bathroom and gave me a 3 minute tardy warning.  I had to stop the shower, get out and throw on some clothes and a cap and drive like a bat out of hell to get him to school on time. 

Summer, in great contrast, is so carefree.  There’s no homework, no ‘snack day’, no tardy bell.  There’s no uniforms to wash, no belts to find, no poster boards to pick up on the way home.  I can taste the freedom now.  I’m downright giddy, is what I am.  

Of course, summer also means that my grocery bill just went up $350 per week.  (Again, I exaggerate here.  But I want you to understand what I mean when I tell you that 4 children will be consuming 3 meals and a minimum of 2 snacks per day, 7 days a week for three months straight at my house.)  I will be barraged with phone calls and texts saying, “E took my tv out of my room”, “pick up three gallons of milk on your way home pleeeeeseeeeee”, and “B is crazy.  I can’t take this anymore, I’ll be moving out when you get home this afternoon.”  When I get home from work, there will be candy wrappers on the floor in the den, the refrigerator will be left open for no apparent reason whatsoever, the dog will be dragging around an old pork chop, and the floor in at least three separate areas will be inexplicably sticky. 

Yeah.  Summer.  Good times…Good times. 

When does school start back up, exactly?

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in bad kids, Bad mother, crazy kids, Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to School’s Almost Out~Oh Joy!

  1. Mreffus824 says:

    oh how true!!!!

  2. ZOHRMOM says:

    And good times will be had by all!

  3. Miz Tiz says:

    well, me I think just the opposite…………….summer means no more warty chillen around at all. This week has made me wish them all to disappear down a deep hole! I keep saying only a few more days, only a few more days. . . . .

  4. Jalyn says:

    August 17th, to be exact…ahahahahah

Leave a Reply

