Confession Thursday…A True Confession


It’s Confession Thursday, kids.  And you know what that means.  Right?  Right?!

I’m a little skittish about making a confession today, as I was recently friended by my Pastor and my little ones’ Children’s Minister on Facebook…which means that they might read this blog.  I’m going to do my best to stay true to myself, not censoring what I really want to say here, in these lines, but it will be hard, Dear Readers.  I figure it like this:  If Jesus had dinner with Tax Collectors, then my Pastor can still want to be my friend even though I’m not real Jesus-like most of the time.  I want to be, I sometimes really try to be, but usually I fall very, very short. 

So, here goes my confession, which is made with some hesitation and more than a little embarrassment.

You’ve all read (haven’t you?) the Confession about my despise of Oprah.  As you are probably aware, this week was the finale of her 25 year run on network tv.  Coincidentally, I have a heinous cold and had to go home early yesterday.  I ended up watching (most of) the final Oprah show.   But it gets worse, Dear Readers.  You see, I set my DVR to record the Surprise Oprah Finale Spectacular (that’s probably not what the actual name was, but I can’t remember it exactly so I just made that up) which aired on Tuesday, AND I set my DVR to record the final episode, which aired yesterday.  I can’t even blame my having watched it on happenstance.  It was a pre-mediated offense against myself.  I sort of trivialized it in my head, and decided that it would like a train wreck, and I just couldn’t look away.  But here’s the other thing:  I was really really impressed with the number of people that She-Whose-Name-Must-Not-Be-Spoken has played a huge role in educating.  It was like 40 billion.  (Again, I can’t remember the actual number, so I just totally made that up.  I assure you it was an equally impressive number.)  Maybe I didn’t give her enough credit as a human being….a humanitarian.  She really has done a lot for children and women and men alike.  SWNMNBS is really something.

Okay, it’s official, I must now be running fever.

Cue the Fever-Induced Delirium and Hallucinations!

You’re turn.  And keep it clean, guys, my Pastor might be reading this.  🙂

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Blogging., Confession Thursday, Humor, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Confession Thursday…A True Confession

  1. dorquemada says:

    I’m sure I’ll have something decadent or shameful to share when my road trip is over. But as of now, not so much.

  2. You need to be rushed to the hospital, post-haste! No, for real. She really has done quite a lot for other’s. Of course, it is a HUGE tax right-off for her. Shoot, I’d sell my big toe if it meant I’d get tons of money back on taxes.

  3. Just Aimee says:

    OH-my-foxtrotting-goodness. Yes, you must be very very ill. Please someone call an ambulance. Go get her and take her to the hospital…no, take her to central or somewhere cuz something is WRONG over there. As a matter of fact, test the air in Alexandria…she’s lost it…….HAHAHAHA.

    I don’t dislike her (not love either, mind you, just a version of respect, I think, of all she accomplished, as a woman, a black woman, coming from a bad part of Mississippi at a time when racial prejudice was definitely a stumbling block) and I couldn’t even get thru the CLIPS of the final episode.

    However, I’m proud of you. 🙂

  4. Miz Tiz says:

    I second everything Aimee said.

  5. spiceblogger says:

    Nadda. No go. Not buying it.
    She has accomplished a lot in her life. Good for her.
    But we (society, in general) have had to listen to all of her glories ad nauseum for YEARS. What’s that? Right. 25 years to be exact.

    And all those humanitarian, good deeds…. Well, I think they were done more for her ego than anything else. Solely for the benefit of having her name and face attached to something deemed “good” or “benevolent.”

    Ugh.. I don’t like her, her condescension, her glory or her constant reminding the world of her greatness.

    And, HELLO… She’s not really gone! She has her own Foxtrotting network!!!!

Leave a Reply

