Time Flies. . .


Wow…I guess it’s really true what they say, ‘Time flies when you’re having fun.”  I can’t believe you are already six years old, today.  You still seem like my baby in so many ways. 

Curious and Bright. Those are the words that describe you best.

Not long ago you asked me if I remembered when you were “borned.”  I told you of course I did.  You said you did too.  Then you asked me if I remembered our family before you were borned, which I did, of course.  You then admitted that you couldn’t remember back that far.  Here’s what I remember, my dear sweet baby boy:

I remember when I found out that we were going to have you.  I couldn’t believe it.  Your big brother was 10, and your big sister was 6.  We thought that we had all the children we had ever wanted, and a nice neat tidy family was already in place.  I didn’t think we had room for one more, but it didn’t take me long to get so super duper excited about you joining our family.  It just felt right.  Of course, not long into my pregnancy, I knew something wasn’t right.  Turns out I had kidney stones, which complicated things a bit and put a little more stress on me and on you during the time that you were in my belly.  I sometimes wonder now if that could have played any role in the problems that you have today with stuff like playing with your friends at school and getting in trouble for being too rough and sometimes a little stubborn.  (You know, just a little stubborn!)  Anyway, when you were born, you had jaundice, which means that you were a little yellow and you needed a special light to sleep under to make you all better.  I wasn’t able to hold you as much as I wanted for a while.  Not long after that got better, you developed reflux, which meant that every time you ate, you threw up in projectile fashion!  It was pretty gross, man!  And we went through so many wash clothes and towels and t-shirts and onesies that I thought we’d deplete the world of it’s cotton resources altogether!

When you began to grow up, it was clear that you were super smart, super sweet, and very sure of what you wanted!  We had to work very hard to keep up with you.  We learned early on that you were strong willed, and it became the goal of every other member of our family to make you happy and satisfied.  In other words, you have ruled our roost since you came along.  You have a special impact on each member of our family.  We all love you so much.

You like to scare the be-jeezus out of Little A. And she likes to punch you in the nose!

 

Big E loves your ability to "Tell it like it is." He says you get that from him.

You're a great "Big Brother"...you will always take care of Little A.

When you started school, our suspicions about you were confirmed:  You were, by all accounts, a very smart kid.  You learned things quickly, and you were very precise with your words and your writing.

First day of Kindergarten. Look out, World! 🙂

As you have grown, you have continued to be all that we love about you.  You hold a very special place in our family.  We are so lucky to have you.  You are unique and funny and so intelligent that it literally takes us aback sometimes. 

Happy birthday, Little B!  

You may now begin the countdown to next year’s birthday!

"Mom, how many seconds in a day?" oh noes.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Blogging., crazy kids, Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Time Flies. . .

  1. YaYa says:

    My fondest memory of Little B is when he was very little and if could get something, ANYTHING, between his first finger and thumb, he would just roll it and roll it and roll it, something about the texture was very pleasing to him, I think. I thought at that moment, MAN THIS IS GOING TO BE A SPECIAL KID!!! and the reflux was GROSS. Oh yeah, and if he saw a miller light sign, bottle, can – he’d say “That’s Ya-Ya’s juice”. We are all very lucky to be apart of Little B’s family.

  2. Summer says:

    Happy Birthday, Little Guy! Great post. I teared.

  3. Mare says:

    I remember the day you found out your were expecting Little B. I will not repeat how you told me but it was a very unique way of saying it. Little B is a very special little boy and will grown up someday to be a very good man. Happy Birthday to Little B and his special Mom. Now its on 366 (leap year) days until his next birthday.

  4. Happy birthday to the little man! 🙂

  5. Miz Tiz says:

    so beautiful, such love, it’s a good thing you are keeping this journal/blog…….he will treasure this, and you’ve shared it with us too.

Leave a Reply

