Vacay…


I know you all remember that I told you that my friend, Just Aimee, and I headed off to a mutual vacation last week with our collective kiddos…we lacked only one, making it a total of 7 chil’rens.  Aimee’s 15 year old couldn’t make it because he had some English makeup work to do to be able to pass.  We were a little bummed about him not coming.  I was more than a little anxious about having the two little ones to contend with on my own.  They behave much better for Zohrhubby than me. In addition, Little B does not usually react well to changes in his routine.  I had a hard time figuring out if even this fun change would bode well for him.  

Look at how happy that boy is!

 My anxiety was unnecessary, as it turned out.  The kids were actually very good, even considering how excited they were to be there and to have so much stuff to do and see.  What struck me the most about the entire trip was how awesome Little B behaved.  He was so engaged in everything that we did, from swimming to bug hunting to cavern exploring, that he really didn’t have much idle time to get cranky.  Even transitioning from one activity to another he handled with style.  It was very impressive.  I credit much of this to Aimee.  She’s heard all the stories, read all the blog posts, and took some time pre-vacay to read all that she could on PDD, and quite frankly, she handled him much better than I ever have.  Even though I know that the best way to handle him is with redirecting, I forget sometimes, in the most frustrating of moments.  I get nervous about what is about to happen, and instead of shifting his focus, I try to remove him from whatever situation we are in with the least impact on those around us.  She was a God-send.  Seriously.  She talked softly and calmly with him, and explained things and got really good results.  She figured out quickly what he really liked, and used that each and every time when redirecting was needed.  She handled him so well.  He trusted her and he listened to her, and he remained calm (for the most part) because she remained calm.  In the pool, he got more and more confident with his ability to not drown and die (as he put it) and began creeping into the “deep” end of the pool, which was about 5 ft.  Aimee decided right away that we’d better teach the boy to swim.  She worked with him for about 3-4 hours over the course of a couple of days.  By the time we left, he was like a fish in the water.  It was so awesome to see. 

Jacob, Little B and Little A. I had literally seconds to get this shot.

Little A, on the other hand, presented some typical little girl problems that Aimee set out to resolve during their time together, which didn’t quite pan out.  Little A is a runner.  She will shoot out of your hands and take off running toward a street or parking lot at breakneck speed, and not even hesitate when you yell out her name.  She might even turn to look at you and giggle all the while.  This drove Aimee insane.  And she set about to teach my runaway girl why she shouldn’t do this, and how dangerous it was, and how angry and upset it made her just because of that.  I had given those explanations a shot early on in her running career, without success.  Zohrhubby and I’s parenting strategy then thusly shifted to “don’t let go of her.”  This has been mostly successful, except for those occasions when we forget and accidentally let go of her.  It’s hard to spank a giggling angel, but we certainly do that a good portion of the time.  It gets easier over time.  I think Aimee finally figured out that she wasn’t going to cure Little A of this affliction in 5 days, and she conceded. 

Little A was tuckered out after the caverns and the Spring. Cole apparently was pleased that she finally stopped talking. 🙂

I have to give Aimee props.  She taught me a lot about motherhood and patience and strength during our vacation.  It was a great experience for me and my kids, and I can’t thank her enough for our time together. 

Tween C and Big E having fun in the pool.

This was our cold-water playground for the afternoon.

Bubble Bunny Rabbit Little A (probably taken around midnight on any given night).

 

Little B's bubble bath

 

This was the only activity that didn't excite my two bobble-heads. Aimee, Cole and Jacob and I played 18 holes of putt-putt in scorching heat, while Little B played in the grass and stuff and Little A squeeled the whole time about how she wanted ICE-CREAM NOW! and then they finally collapsed on the green. (Then we went and got ice cream. )

 
 

 The oldest boys (Big E and Cody), decided that next year we are going to Florida.  Cody is a ginger-headed freckler, and Big E is the whitest person on the planet.  I can’t imagine them on a sunny beach trolling for bikini babes, but that’s their plan.  I personally hate sand.  But I’m willing to make some concessions.  I hope that Aimee had as good a time as she said she did.  It’d be really cool to see our kids together for a little while once a year.  Watch them grow up and interact with each other.  Aimee and I were so close when we were growing up, and we agreed that it’s a shame that this was the first real experience that our children shared together.  I’d love to do it again.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in bad kids, Bad mother, Blogging., crazy kids, Family, Humor, Parenthood, Pervasive Developmental Disorder, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Vacay…

  1. Zohrmom says:

    So happy everyone had a wonderful time!

  2. Shauna says:

    I hope you all come to Florida!!! Glad you all had a good time!!!

  3. Miz Tiz says:

    I hope you two gals can see this big grin that wrapped all around my face twice from reading this entry! I love you more and more as I learn what you two have become since I saw you last as students. xxxxxooooo

  4. Remember when we looked at parents who had kids on a leash and were disgusted with them? Ha! Now we understand. We may still condemn them, but we understand. It is SO tempting.
    Even handcuffs look good sometimes. Admit it!
    Older, wiser, and with a lot more gray heair,
    Jodi

  5. Just Aimee says:

    We are SO gonna do it again next year. It REALLY was a fantastic time.

    Truth be told:

    B is SUCH an awesome kid. Seriously y’all, he is so smart. He is logical, and pays attention to the detailed explanations I would give him about things (complicated things too), and he listened and absorbed every word I said to him. I honestly find him fascinating. I think of him so many times a day now….. at different times, when things I see fascinate me that I just KNOW he would just love. Beyond all that, he is just a sweet kid. Ok, so sometimes his “sweetness” is a bit much for some of his friends (for example, the tree frog which thankfully managed to escape, lol) but thats the BOY in him (something I’m pretty familiar with as well lol) As far as swimming… all he needed was for someone to have a little faith in him. Just telling him he WAS going to make it changed his ENTIRE perspective. Just letting him go, telling him to kick, and him MAKING IT made him so proud of HIMSELF. He did it over and over and was so happy that we’d actually have to physically hold him above water bc he’d laugh so hard and still try to swim underwater back and forth that he was out of breath! It was so fun! Awesome. HE is awesome and I totally GOT HIS BACK.

    I dont scare very easily, but A scared the SIERRA out of me with the running thing. BUUUT, The giggling angel description is just about right. Its a very accurate assessment of her entire persona. I imagine her aura is pink with smiling butterfies fluttering about. Its hard to stay mad at her, but its a good thing I do run regularly, bc if not my heart really may have exploded on some of the chases I embarked upon. By the way, when you have just chased a giggling angel uphill over 2 golf holes, its hard to spank them, or even yell at them. Mostly because after such a sprint, my own breath was pretty hard to come by. LOL. I’ve decided I’ll work on curing her of that next year. Hahahahaha!

    The big kids were fantastic….well, ALMOST fantastic. lol.

    It was awesome. Really really awesome.

    For the beach, We’ll buy a lot of sunscreen and big hats. And for little A, a GPS tracking device LOL.

    • Zohrmom says:

      Thanks, Just Aimee, for getting it. I truly know how much this means to ZB. Just like Miz Tiz, I too am very proud of the women you two have become.

  6. quaid says:

    OMG, this sounds like such a great vacay! So glad you girls and your chirl’rens had fun!

Leave a Reply

