Happy Birthday Zohrsis


Today is my sister’s birthday.  You know what that means, Dear Readers!

My sister is 5 and a half years older than me.  That means that I mostly annoyed her when we were children.  And by “mostly” I mean always.  When I was little, I am told that she cared for me like I was her own child, but most of my childhood memories involve her calling me a “baby” and telling me to get out of her room.   She made me angry.  But I still wanted to be her.

By the time I was in Junior High, she’d already married and left home.  About 25 years ago, she and her husband moved south, and the rest of the family moved north, and so it’s been ever since.  But it was also around that time that she and I began our real relationship.  Mostly by telephone.  When my mother was being unreasonable, it was always my sister that I would call.  After all, she and Zohrmom had their fair share of fights, arguments and obstacles…so she was the only one who could understand.  I continued to call her once I got married…when I had trouble with Zohrhubby, or an issue with one of my kids.  Sometimes I’d call her because I needed someone to be on my side, but that didn’t always happen.  My sister, you see, has the unique ability to listen to a laundry list of problems, complaints, thoughts and disappointments, and then agree and offer advice when it’s warranted, or conversely, be the voice of reason.  She doesn’t just agree with me because that’s what I want or need.  She tells me the truth.  She makes me take off my rose colored glasses and see things for what they are.  In short, she is my sister, my friend, and my therapist.  And I love her for being all of those things to me.  She makes me laugh, makes me cry, and makes me see

We sometimes talk about how nice it would be if we lived closer to each other.  If we did, we could physically be there for one another in addition to being emotionally available to each other.  Maybe one day that will happen, but whether it does or not, she’s always been there for me, even if it wasn’t always in the flesh. 

So, Happy Birthday Zohrsis.  You are many things to many people who love you, but you will always be the best sister a girl could ever hope for.  Except on the days that I want to talk and you just really want to nap, but you pretend to want to talk, but keep falling asleep on the phone.  But otherwise, you’re the best.  I love you so much.

 

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday Zohrsis

  1. Zohrmom says:

    I second all of the above, except insert daughter for sister. You rock! Hope you have the best birthday ever! BTW, she can sometimes be my voice of reason too! But she does it in the nicest way…

  2. Isn’t it funny how we can’t communicate with sibs until there are long distance charges involved?
    Jodi

  3. Zohrsis says:

    I love you my beautiful sister.

  4. Miz Tiz says:

    Man, I miss my sister! I have found a few substitutes over the years, but nothing as good as the original.

Leave a Reply

