Sponsor a Zohrchild’s Education Today!


It’s that time of year.  Again.  I’m about 3 weeks away from the Zohrchildren’s return to school.  It’s a mixed bag of emotions for me.  Anxiety, fear, excitement, relief, and exhaustion.  Wait, is exhaustion an emotion?  No?  Okay then, scratch that one. 

They’ll be plenty of opportunities for me to celebrate the positive things about school, i.e., not being eaten out of house and home all summer, non-sticky floors when I get home; and plenty of time to complain about the problems which will inevitably ensue…like the alarm clock malfunctions, the homework fiascos and school project deadlines, among other things.

Today, dear readers, I’d like to start a campaign. 

The cost of School Supplies and School Uniforms affects many families every year.  It’s likely that someone you know is affected by the stresses of SS&SU.  You might be thinking, “Yeah, but what could I do to help?”  The answer is simple.  Let’s make a difference in the lives of a few (er, um, several) children as a token of our understanding of the vastness of this problem.  For just pennies a day, you too can make a difference in the life of a child.  

Little B, for example, has feet that have grown two sizes since May.  He needs good shoes so that he can run and play on the playground until the bell rings, and then run from the teachers to hide behind a tree.  He’s also gotten a little chunky over the summer, so we might have to spring for the husky sizes, which always cost a few bucks extra. Little A is now taller than her older brother, and her pants from last year are now all capris.  And they don’t button.  Teen C has filled out a little, and has hips where once there were none.  She can’t get last year’s pants past her knees.  Big E now requires pants and shirts from the Big (Not so much) and TALL (Yes, please, thank you) section.  He’s also in need of size “boat” shoes.   

Then, there’s supplies.  This is tricky.  Because the school district has a website.  On that website, there are lists of supplies by grade levels.  If you print these lists out, and buy your supplies in time for open house, then you will arrive with your child’s name plastered all over each individual supply, only to find out that over half of your purchases are useless.  In addition, there is an additional $40 worth of crap that they need that wasn’t on the list.  Don’t rely on the “lists” provided as a service to its shoppers by Wal-Mart or a similar chain store, for the same reason.  It’s a trick.  I figure that school supplies and fees will cost me at least $250 this year, easy.  Well, not EASY, but you know what I mean.  

Altogether, I think the Zohrchildren will cost me at least $800 this year…and keep in mind, dear readers, that we are in public school here.  So this is the cost for their “free and appropriate” education.  It’s times like these that Zohrhubby and I secretly wish that a couple of these kids were from a previous marriage or two, whereby the rightful “baby daddy” would have to chip in to cover these costs.  But alas, they are all ours. 

That’s where you come in, dear readers.  For your donation, you will receive a photograph and a letter from the child that you choose to sponsor.  You’ll get progress reports from their teachers, and potentially a phone call or two directly from your sponsored child’s principal over the course of the school year.  You will be invited to school plays, talent shows, and “lunch with Mom” days.  (Just bring along my camera and snap a few shots for me, if you don’t mind.)

Dangit! This link won't work. My "Charity/Tax exempt" status hasn't gone through yet.

Message me for details about how to make your donation today, and make a difference in the life of child. 

 

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in bad kids, Bad mother, Blogging., Family, Humor, Parenthood, School, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Sponsor a Zohrchild’s Education Today!

  1. YaYa says:

    Make a deal with you.. I’ll trade you a years worth of homework time with Tween A for an investment in back 2 school stuff. It’s a win/win situation! But I don’t want to have to be involved with any school function.

  2. Zohrmom says:

    I will supply after school care for 1 of the Zkids. With pleasure

  3. quaid says:

    Being out of full-time employment at the moment and therefore barely able to support myself, I can only offer free bar-tending lessons to each child. Never underestimate the value of a loving spawn greeting you at the door with a proper martini after a long, hard day at the office.

  4. Just Aimee says:

    I’m afraid my own bank account will very soon be empty for the exact same reason, so I can’t really help. If we had uniforms I probably would be able to provide some hand me downs, but unfortunately this isn’t the case either. Although, sometimes I do run across some cheap uniform clearances, I’ll send them to you. 😉

    I feel the need to vent my opionion of the uniform thing a little bit this morning. So here goes: I think the way that Rapides parish handles uniform policy defeats the purpose OF a uniform policy. See, I do fully understand the IDEA of having uniforms. Its intention is to create a utopia of equality among students. Well, it DOES NOT. It creates a less-than-utopian hell for everyone. First of all, if the school system does not realize that even though they ban labels on clothing, the kids STILL know which khaki’s are from American Eagle vs. Family Dollar Store, then they are crazy. They KNOW. Its not hard to tell. The cheap versions are stiff, ill-fitting, and most often, downright UGLY. So, yeah. They know, therefore, everyone still knows who’s Mom spent more money on their uniforms, etc. Secondly, when the school system requires uniforms, the stores around the schools KNOW that parents have to buy these items, and they are never on sale, much less on clearance, therefore it become EXPENSIVE to buy them. This leaves the people who don’t have a lot of money stuck with either the cheap ugly uniforms which will be judged, or with someones stained and ripped hand me downs, or other worse situations, like their grandma sewing them some super fine khaki elastic pants. When I lived in Fairview, Rapides parish had already gone to uniforms. My mom would drive to my house, then we would drive to Deridder, La, where at the time they were not wearing uniforms, and she would buy uniforms for my nephew at stores there, which were always on clearance because there was NO DEMAND for them.

    Now, in Kinder they do the uniform equality thing the way it should be done. Keep in mind, I still do not support uniforms. I think they curb individuality and all that hippy stuff, and man, they are just yuck. Not to mention that after they start in uniforms, they refuse to wear khackis and polos to places where you would LIKE them to….like church and weddings. Anyway, there, they have to buy the uniforms that are sold by the school. The school sets the price, which is, by the way, fair. Not terribly cheap or expensive. And they have consignment used resale clothing, if you can’t afford the new ones. The shirts are poly/cotton, don’t shrink or fade out, all have the little school logo thingy and they wear the same color combos from K – 12. The khackis come with the cuff really long so they can be let out or taken in easily. So, everyone is indeed the same. No one knows whos Mom or Dad is rich or poor or who is cooler bc they snagged the cool pair with the zipper pockets and the tiny eagle on the waist band or shirt tale or whatever. The kids all wear the same belt the same type of shoes, all that.

    Rapides parish is torturing parents with this uniform thing and not even achieving what the true goal of uniforms is. Its ridiculous.

    I have heard parents say that they liked uniforms for one, probably the ONLY, valid reason. They don’t have to chose or fight with their children over what they wear to school. Yeah, ok. I get that. But really? Is it worth it? I guess everyone has their own opinion, but I dont think so. If they are going to do it at all, they should do it right, like that school in Kinder. If they aren’t, then we should be able to send our kids to school in whatever we want…like $1 clearance t-shirts with Kung-Fu Panda on the front and a pair of jean shorts and tennis shoes. I mean, what’s wrong with that anyway?

    RANT OVER.

  5. Catherine says:

    Aimee: Just read this comment and I am in total agreement. My son will be a freshman in the RP school system this year. This will be our first year for uniforms. I hate it already!!!!!! He wore shorts and some kind of baseball/sports shirt to school just about everyday and it was so nice! (K-8th) I have been racing around Alexandria trying to find the right kind of shorts that fit! I am not happy! I am spoiled by my one stop shopping at Academy! Not to mention I agree with all the hippy stuff you mentioned above! I HATE UNIFORMS!!!!!

  6. Miz Tiz says:

    I have always been disgruntled by the uniform + dress code thingy. Not that the basic ideas are bad, but JustAimee expressed a lot of my complaints. Our uniform is sooooo NOT a uniform. There is no rule about shoes, socks or colored accessories. The girls have been (yay!) encouraged in their creative thinking in those areas, but that is the only good thing I can think of. Oops………….gotta go, will finish comment later.
    Miz Tiz

Leave a Reply

