Crazy Person Alert


Lately, I feel like a crazy person.  My kids are all over the place and I spend half of my time trying desperately to calm myself down so I can squelch the urge to choke them.  I know that you know that I tend to exaggerate things, but I’m totally serious about this.  They are MAKING ME NUTS.

Okay. No. Really? When I googled "Kids are making me nuts" this is the picture I got. Google: Fail. This is not nuts. This is a small headache. Acid indigestion, maybe. But not "NUTS".

 Big E “ran away to home” this past weekend.  He abruptly left  Ya Ya’s house in anger on foot, sans shoes…with no cell phone or wallet, and when an hour or so passed and he didn’t return, we began searching for him. 

After nearly 5 hours of desperate searching and turning up nothing, we drove home, slowly, looking both ways and trying to see if maybe he was walking toward home.  We had to drive through some pretty scary neighborhoods.  I held in my tears because I knew that it would upset Teen C, who was already very upset and worried.  We saw nothing.  I put the kids to bed, and Zohrhubby went back out to drive another route.  And at 11 p.m., he walked in my back door. 

From the route I can only surmise that he took, I think he walked about 15 miles.  He had huge holes in his tar-black socks and he was exhausted.  So was I, along with everyone who loves and cares about our family.  I was overwhelmed with emotions.  Anger, fear, frustration, sadness and physical PAIN.  I wanted to impart a little bit of that last emotion to him, but I figured walking all that way in his socked feet through cracktown in the middle of the night was punishment enough.  I let it alone, and alerted the authorities of his return.  We went to bed, but sleep wouldn’t come for a long time.  I’ve had a little trouble sleeping ever since. 

You guys know about Big E.  I’ve written enough in these virtual pages for you to get the jist.  He’s a less-than-enthusiastic-participant in life in general.  This was obviously a cry for help.  But what sort of help, exactly, do you think he’s crying out for?  Because I haven’t a clue.  When I try to talk to him about it, he shuts down again.  

Dumb, stupid, ridiculous.  Parenthood is just dumb. 

Just when you think you’ve sort of maybe got things figured out (and let’s be clear here, Zohrstruly has NEVER claimed to have any such thing “figured out”) everything goes all berzerko on you and you end up sitting on your butt in the back yard looking up at the night sky and asking, “What the HELL was THAT ABOUT?” and waiting endlessly for an answer that never comes.

On top of all of that complete and total dysfunction, Little B’s new medication is starting to “wear off”.  If I had any doubts about the medicine working, I don’t have them anymore.  School is once again a mini-nightmare every day, and every evening and morning is filled with fights, screaming, crying, stomping, and utter defiance.  But I’m trying not to be so temperamental.  Just kidding.  The kids’ craziness is amplified by the distance around the sun since the meds have stopped working.  Luckily, we have an appointment tomorrow to talk to the doctor about increasing the dosage. 

Maybe I could get the doctor to write me a script for Sanity while I’m there.  I wonder what my copay is for that Tier of medication?  Probably something like my first born.  Eh.  Okay.

I’m trying to maintain some level of a sense of humor about my life.  So far, so good.  

Now we're talkin'. Nuts.

About zohrbak

Zohrbak is an old email username I had a while back...it's a made-up twist on two characters from Spaceghost. Zorak and Brak. I'm a geek. I am a married, working mother of 4 children, ages 4-15. I also have interests outside of my children, but I can never remember what they are.
This entry was posted in bad kids, Bad mother, Confession Thursday, crazy kids, Family, Humor, Parenthood, The Joys of Parenthood and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Crazy Person Alert

  1. dorquemada says:

    Sigh. I got nothin’.

  2. spiceblogger says:

    At least Big E ran away HOME. And maybe it scared the crap out of him enough to not walk off without thinking about what he’s doing.

    I can only say that I hope things calm down and get better.

    Other than that, remember: there is always yoga!

  3. Maybe Big E will talk to someone else?
    Jodi

  4. YaYa says:

    I can imagine he’ll be more careful with his cell phone so that he has it when he needs it. One day, many years from now when we are super old and have lots more gray we’ll be sitting around the table and Big E will say, “remember when I was a dumbass and walked off with out my shoes” and we’ll all laugh & then he’ll remind his little brother not be a dumbass. Oh and I’ll buy a sanity pill from you after you get that prescription filled. I’m sure it’ll go nice with a cold beer!

  5. Zohrmom says:

    Honestly wish I had something more than emotional support. Even with all that I feel helpless but not hopeless. Both your boys will be fine, eventually. I just know it.

    • Miz Tiz says:

      All I can do is just echo your mom’s comment. I love you…….and through you I love them and hurt when you do and smile when you do. Holding all of you close in my heart.

  6. Jalyn says:

    Who says he’s crying out for something/some reason?? How does one actually know if our children go through this…wanna know what I think??? I think he’s probably alot like my own selfish 18 yr old…JUST BEING A JACKASS!!! (sorry…just had to throw that in there for good measure…)

  7. Jalyn says:

    and I just realized that everyohe posts by a nickname…should I be doing that??

  8. Jalyn says:

    well…..he is a MALE, and certainly makes him well qualified to be one….ahahahahaha

Leave a Reply

